You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 4th, 2019, 02:19 PM   #1
Skidood
Member
Canada

Skidood is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 160
urgent -SLC 5/04 CPU-LEDs all lit

Hi all

My client in a very remote location is reporting that all LEDS on their CPU are looping...here is his exact words:
"the attached photo of modules in panel seem to be doing a constant loop, this photo shows all lights lit but then they all go out and the red one lights up, then the yellow one, then all the lights and this repeats this cycle every 7 seconds."

Here is a photo of the LEDS while they are lit up, if that helps at all.

And shouldn't the analog module have a green LED instead of a red one?
They did have some power disturbances on the previous working day but the PLXC was not powered up all day.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20191104_144024.jpg (157 Bytes, 140 views)

Last edited by Skidood; November 4th, 2019 at 02:25 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2019, 02:27 PM   #2
Skidood
Member
Canada

Skidood is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 160
not sure why the photo I attached isnt showing up but the red one he is referring to I believe is the Fault LED and the yellow one is the Force LED

And MY MISTAKE, it is UNCLEAR whether the PLC was powered up during he power disturbances. It has a 24 VDC power supply on the left end.

Last edited by Skidood; November 4th, 2019 at 03:15 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2019, 03:11 PM   #3
mike3475
Member
United States

mike3475 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: brooklyn ,NY
Posts: 214
check this link:

http://forums.mrplc.com/index.php?/t...g-in-run-mode/
  Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2019, 03:17 PM   #4
Skidood
Member
Canada

Skidood is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 160
VERY helpful... TY
  Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2019, 04:11 PM   #5
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,921
Typically, these unusual LED indicator sequences indicate that either a hardware or software error has occurred.

If the FAULT and BATT LEDs are prominent at the end of the apparent sequence then this will indicate one of several possible software errors.

If the FAULT and FORCE LEDs are prominent at the end of the apparent sequence then this will indicate one of several possible hardware errors.

As the sequence you/they have described here appears to be a hardware error, then the root cause could be anything from the processor module itself, the power supply module, the supply to the power supply module, an I/O module, or the chassis itself.

Have you/they got a recent copy of the project file for this controller?

Have they got any spare parts?

Are they experienced enough to work on removing/replacing parts, resetting the processor, loading a fresh copy of the project, etc.?

Or are you or someone else experienced going to have to travel there to root cause and try resolve this?

If they are capable then you could instruct or direct them towards the following information...

14988 - SLC 500: LEDs flashing in unusual sequence that is not shown in the manual
Access Level: TechConnect

That one just explains a couple of possible sequences and just a processor reset (memory clear) as a possible solution, else replace the processor. However, there are other eliminatory steps I would recommend before definitely replacing the processor, and these steps do include replacing the power supply module, among other hardware, such as I've suggested above...

16289 - Troubleshooting hardware or application for a SLC 500 with fault led in solid red or flashing
Access Level: TechConnect

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2019, 04:14 PM   #6
gbradley
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

gbradley is offline
 
gbradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Corona, Ca.
Posts: 1,560
Glad you got it figured out.
I am not trying to start a fight here, so please take this or leave it kindly.
When I see a post marked Urgent, my first inclination is to keep on scrolling.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2019, 04:18 PM   #7
Skidood
Member
Canada

Skidood is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 160
I completely understand that. Dumb.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2019, 04:22 PM   #8
Skidood
Member
Canada

Skidood is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geospark View Post
Typically, these unusual LED indicator sequences indicate that either a hardware or software error has occurred.

If the FAULT and BATT LEDs are prominent at the end of the apparent sequence then this will indicate one of several possible software errors.

If the FAULT and FORCE LEDs are prominent at the end of the apparent sequence then this will indicate one of several possible hardware errors.

As the sequence you/they have described here appears to be a hardware error, then the root cause could be anything from the processor module itself, the power supply module, the supply to the power supply module, an I/O module, or the chassis itself.

Have you/they got a recent copy of the project file for this controller?

Have they got any spare parts?

Are they experienced enough to work on removing/replacing parts, resetting the processor, loading a fresh copy of the project, etc.?

Or are you or someone else experienced going to have to travel there to root cause and try resolve this?

If they are capable then you could instruct or direct them towards the following information...

14988 - SLC 500: LEDs flashing in unusual sequence that is not shown in the manual
Access Level: TechConnect

That one just explains a couple of possible sequences and just a processor reset (memory clear) as a possible solution, else replace the processor. However, there are other eliminatory steps I would recommend before definitely replacing the processor, and these steps do include replacing the power supply module, among other hardware, such as I've suggested above...

16289 - Troubleshooting hardware or application for a SLC 500 with fault led in solid red or flashing
Access Level: TechConnect

Regards,
George
Thank you very much....I dont have a TechConnect contract...it doesn't make sense for me to purchase that since I very rarely have to worry about PLCs....I am not a PLC engineer, I just take care of equipment that sometimes has PLCs as the control system. I do have the program and RSLogix....praying I wont have to go up there. They won't have any spare parts but they should be able to replace the power supply themselves if it comes down to that.

Last edited by Skidood; November 4th, 2019 at 04:35 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2019, 04:49 PM   #9
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,921
Note: the current hardware error will have cleared the processor's memory and locked down the communication ports. Also, the processor won't be communicating across the local backplane to the likes of the analog I/O module, so that is most likely why the module does not appear healthy.

They can certainly purchase replacement parts and start replacing them. It could prove to be something other than the power supply, although they have been known to degrade after many years. But that can all take some time and end up being quite costly, relatively speaking. So first, and as a minimum, I would advise that they should clear out the I/O modules from the processor chassis and try to perform the processor reset to clear the hardware error and get just the FAULT LED flashing again, ready for the project to be downloaded. This would at least let you know you have a fighting chance with this processor. Still, a dodgy power supply, or chassis, could still prevent the processor from recovering. Sometimes a simple removal and reinsertion of the processor module can make the difference, but a processor reset will still be required to clear the hardware error.

If it does reset then it still does not mean that the error won't happen again later, depending on what caused it. But if reset, they can then power down and refit the local I/O modules one by one, powering down in between each one, until, hopefully, they are all fitted and the processor remains with just the FAULT LED flashing.

Then, if successful, you or someone will have to connect to the controller and download the project again.

For instructions to perform the processor reset, please see the below previous thread...

Allen Bradley SLC 5/03 strange fault state - I need help with the LED diagnostics

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2019, 04:47 PM   #10
Skidood
Member
Canada

Skidood is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 160
Update...cause appears to be memory corruption with a good battery....the CPU had an EEPROM memory module, so all that was needed was to short out the VBB and GND and the program transferred upon power-up.. The machine has been running fine for 2 weeks now. Customer now has a spare CPU and DC power supply for future use as needed.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2019, 09:51 AM   #11
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,921
That is all good news!...

...that it successfully reset to healthy...
...that there was an EEPROM to reload the program...
...that you didn't need to travel to site...

...that that's that...

...OK, that is enough of that...

...and I hope that it lasts...

...oh, sorry, that was the last that...
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2019, 05:31 PM   #12
Skidood
Member
Canada

Skidood is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 160
Lol

I did have to travel there, actually...5 hour drive and naturally a couple nights in a hotel
  Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2019, 04:14 AM   #13
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,921
...that was unfortunate, but still, a good outcome and well done.

Fingers X'd it doesn't reoccur.

G.
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLC 5/04 change to SLC 5/03 Prayder LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 August 20th, 2014 03:33 PM
Interfacing Redlion and SLC 5/04 abishur LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 19th, 2014 09:19 AM
S7 315 CPU All Leds Flashing erdemsvri LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 21st, 2010 01:22 AM
SLC 5/04 distributed application idowulawrence LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 5th, 2010 11:14 AM
SLC 5/04 faulted (again) PcRider LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 December 31st, 2009 09:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


.