You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 22nd, 2019, 09:52 AM   #16
LadderLogic
Member
United States

LadderLogic is offline
 
LadderLogic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicagolandia
Posts: 1,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by BachPhi View Post
ALL CAPS are lamers!
That is how you spot a foreign spy
__________________
Don't trust, don't fear, don't beg...
  Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2019, 06:48 PM   #17
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by LadderLogic View Post
That is how you spot a foreign spy
That's lame!
  Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2019, 08:18 PM   #18
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,723
Da, comrade
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com

Last edited by Aabeck; December 22nd, 2019 at 08:20 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 05:57 AM   #19
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 288
I use all caps on everything. I also write in all capitals. I suspect it is due to my drafting background.

Also, all of our machine tagging is done in capitals - such as pushbuttons/etc. It just seems to come out better on the engraving machine and tiny labels.

To me, it looks better and is less ambiguous with the small/big letter issues IMO. If you use all caps it eliminates 1/2 of the possibilities (I, l, 1, 0, O, o, etc).

I totally agree, however, that lowercase can present more words in a given space (unless you use a mono-space font)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 11:11 AM   #20
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 381
I am lame then, haha. Or maybe an exception to machine taggings.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 11:47 AM   #21
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 288
I think the legend plate in caps is standard everywhere.

For instance, a google image search of legend plates shows zero in lower-case (at least in my quick scroll-through)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 11:54 AM   #22
boneless
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

boneless is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: OKC
Posts: 1,568
We use all CAPS too. I like the argument relating to engraved tags. Texts on the HMI are like bullet-points or titles anyway, you often see them all CAPS too.


Either way, I guess it is a matter of preference.



Side note, some of my coworkers have the tendency to write Bar in stead of BAR. That really messes with my OCD.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 12:28 PM   #23
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 381
Absolutely, No ALL CAPS with PLC codings.
HMI screen - Preference perhaps.
Machine Taggging, Legend plate - All CAPS
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 12:33 PM   #24
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 288
I had to check because I honestly wasn’t sure what I do.

I use all caps for my tags. I don’t use all caps for my rung comments. I do, however, use all caps for the tag descriptions as well.

I think it has just been followed from one place I worked to the next. It appears to be the same for the last 3 places I’ve worked, at least.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 03:50 PM   #25
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by boneless View Post
Side note, some of my coworkers have the tendency to write Bar in stead of BAR. That really messes with my OCD.
What infuriates me even more is people who write "Kpa" instead of "kPa". There are two abbreviations in those three letters, and you got them both wrong!
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 05:21 PM   #26
Thomas_v2
Member
Germany

Thomas_v2 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ger
Posts: 420
The only occasion where all caps where looking good, were in the LCARS computer interface in Star Trek TNG ;-)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 07:38 PM   #27
LadderLogic
Member
United States

LadderLogic is offline
 
LadderLogic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicagolandia
Posts: 1,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASF View Post
What infuriates me even more is people who write "Kpa" instead of "kPa". There are two abbreviations in those three letters, and you got them both wrong!
Oh yes. Preach on, brother, preach on.
__________________
Don't trust, don't fear, don't beg...
  Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2019, 09:39 PM   #28
theColonel26
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 292
or "Ph" instead of "pH"
  Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2019, 06:46 AM   #29
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,723
Plc, Hmi, Cad, Scada, Cat5, ...

It doesn't end - but does begin in grade school with teachers that teach one way, do something else and another teacher says a third way.
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2019, 07:00 AM   #30
AustralIan
Member
Germany

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,113
Does anyone advocate alternating caps, to keep the fun alive?
AlArM oN MaChInE 1
//I hOpE yOu DoN't HaVe To TrOuBlEsHoOt ThIs BiT oF cOdE

If so I'll create a driver where if you doubletap Caps lock, you get alternating caps mode.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAPS programming software peter op t veld LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 February 23rd, 2015 06:31 PM
Using proximity sensors to sense bottle caps GEOFRA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 October 23rd, 2013 02:26 AM
Power Factor Correction Caps ndzied1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 May 19th, 2005 09:31 AM
Lost caps jr key oldsman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 February 4th, 2005 03:12 AM
Caps Jr software oldsman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 18th, 2003 08:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


.