PLC IP Address/OPC

einstein_g

I'm very new to PLCs and therefore, OPC. I have a MicroLogix 1000 (Allen Bradley) PLC, which I'd like to connect to an OPC server (KepserverEX) running on my computer.

To connect to the PLC, it obviously needs an IP address assigned, and I need to know what this IP address is.

Do I need to run a DHCP/BOOTP sofware on my PC? Do I need an Ethernet switch in between the PLC and the PC, or an Ethernet crossover cable to connect the PLC to the computer?

Last edited:
Hello Einstein,

Welcome to the forum!

Yes, I believe you will need the software to change the IP address of the device.

No you do not NEED a switch, as long as the IP addresses are within range, you should be able to just connect the two devices. With or without switch.

For newcomers to networking i recommend getting an official Cisco CCNA cert guide book (ICND1 100-105). Of course its specific to Cisco switches and routers, but it also does an excellent job of explaining how and why IP addresses and subnets are determined.

Your OPC server needs the IP address of the PLC, wether or not there is a switch between the two is a matter of system physical architecture. Also generally speaking, automation systems generally don't (but not always)use DHCP... they are usually static IP schemes. So, you most likely need to set the static IP on the NIC of the server machine to a unique IP in the same subnet as the PLC.

The MicroLogix 1000 does not support Ethernet, only RS232 and RS485. Do you mean MicroLogix 1100? If so you can use the LCD display to find the address assuming someone hasn't set it up so that you can't. Enter the ESC key and then the down button to "Advanced Set" then the "OK" key. Then scroll down (the down button) to "ENET CFG" and then the "OK" button. The IP address should show up.

Do I need an Ethernet switch in between the PLC and the PC, or an Ethernet crossover cable to connect the PLC to the computer?