Siemens "Help with protecting my project"

Big_Robo

Hi, I am currently developing a project and need to know if it's possible that once I download to CPU and HMI no one can upload it and re use the program elsewhere.

I know about protecting blocks with Know How but I don't know if that will do it.

If possible what do I need to do. I'm still new to Tia Portal.

CPU is S7-1200, HMI KPT400

Thank You.

Last edited:
As far as I know, it is not possible to download editable files FROM the HMI.

PLC side, make sure you set password in the CPU as well as the know how protection.

this is a grey area

if your a company making lots of same product and sell it i can see why u would do this but i would expect some legal paperwork to prohibit the customer doing that

if you are developing for a paying cutomer i would considr that customer owns that developed code

Lock mechanisms exis but use carefully and make sure the paying customer is aware

I would not purchase locked software if i was purchasing equipment, would would accept legal documents saying i would not start cloning the equipment

this is a grey area

if your a company making lots of same product and sell it i can see why u would do this but i would expect some legal paperwork to prohibit the customer doing that

if you are developing for a paying cutomer i would considr that customer owns that developed code

Lock mechanisms exis but use carefully and make sure the paying customer is aware

I would not purchase locked software if i was purchasing equipment, would would accept legal documents saying i would not start cloning the equipment

Yeah it's a grey area, I will be making a bespoke piece of equipment which when sold I don't want anyone to look into or clone without my permission.

Yeah it's a grey area, I will be making a bespoke piece of equipment which when sold I don't want anyone to look into or clone without my permission.