Any idea how to access the Omron simulator?

strantor

I wrote the PLC & HMI program for a subsea tool that we have developed (similar to an ROV but much simpler), and also the user's manual and now working on the training program. We want to have a 3D simulator for operator training. I have no prior experience in 3D animation, but being so deeply ingrained in the operation of the tool, I was chosen as "the guy" to make it happen. For the past weeks I have struggled with a 3D animation suite called Blender, and finally I have created all the geometry and textures and made some animated functions. I have created a very basic 3D video game, starring our tool, using Blender.

Now I would like to incorporate the HMI as part of the simulation, using a touchscreen PC monitor (or NS HMI, if I must). Rather than re-programming all the functions of the PLC and all of the functions of the HMI in Python (the native language of Blender) and recreating all of the graphics, I would like to use what I have already created in CX-Programmer and/or CX-Designer.

I am considering the following possibilities:
Run CX-Programmer and CX-Designer both in simulation mode, linked together. Have Blender inject sensor values and read DMs to/from the link.

Run CX-Designer in simulation mode, linked to blender (I trick CX-Designer to into thinking that Blender is CX-Programmer).

I buy another NS touchscreen and CJ PLC, link them together, and use OmronCSCJEthernetControl OCX to interface Blender with the physical setup. <- I would like to avoid this option.

Any other ideas?
Any thoughts on how to accomplish any of these options, specifically accessing ("hacking") the Omron simulator link?

UPDATE: