HMI One App - Multiple Locations; Panelview Plus 7/FTView ME 9.0

dcooper33

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
I've never tried to do this before, and I've thought of a few possible solutions, but they all feel like kludges.

I have a control system controlling a debone operation. Soon this will be expanding to do another identical operation in the same room. With the first operation, I have 3 panelview plus 7 1000's, one in main PLC panel, and two remote screens out on the floor.

The bean counters have dictated that I have to use the same control system to the control the 2nd operation. It's basically a mirror image of the first, and expanding the PLC code to handle the second system was an easy, if tedious, task.

I'll be adding two new panelviews on the floor to cover the second system. My goal is to have the new panelviews only be able to access screens relevant to that second system, to avoid confusion. I also want to retrofit the original process panelviews to only be able to access their system screens.

So far, I've come up with these options:
1. Make three separate applications. 1 for the control panel HMI that accesses both systems, 1 for the first system only, and 1 for the second system only.
2. Make one application with a startup screen that offers the option of which system you want to access. After that, you could only access that initial screen if you admin user privileges.
3. Using some kind of IP address polling (which I haven't figured out how to do in FTView ME), limit access based on screen location. I have static IP's, so this would be pretty trivial in some software packages, but I can't find any system tags in FTView that help me get to this.

There's pros and cons for all 3, and I'm open to other suggestions.