Devicenet pin differance, 5 vrs 4?

produktion

I am a little new to Devicenet and I have to get a robot station up and running. The current Devicenet cables in the station are all 4 pin. The I/O block I have to hook up is a 5 pin.

So, my plan is to cut the end off the 5 pin cable and hardwire it to the connector on the Devicenet card in the robot panel. The rest of the Devicenet devices are not necessary at this time, so I will not wire them back into the bus.

my question comes down to... what is the differance between the 5 pin and 4 pin devicenet cables? I am aware that the 5 pin is...

CAN_H = white
CAN_L = blue
bare = drain
V- = black
V+ = red

How does the 4 pin match up to this... not drain/shield?

Thanks

Thanks.

It is a Devicenet cable/connection for sure. The devices that are currently connected to it are a valve and a pressure switch I think. Which neither are needed for this temporary setup.

So, I guess my next step is to cut the end of the 5 wire cable I have and hard wire it to the plug that plugs into the Devicenet card that in turn plugs into the robot controller.

Hopefully all goes good.

Another question...

By 'flat' are they talking the physical shape of the cable? Because the four pin I have here is not flat in shape.

Oh that flat cable stuff. Works great for Malibu lights in the front yard, but on machines I have seen customers love & hate it. More in the Hate catagory.

Check with TURCK and they might be able to whip you up drop cables that would go from the 5 pin to a 4 pin drop solution.

Some of the robot controllers I have worked with have had not-perfect implementations of their DeviceNet scanner specs. I would pursue the ODVA approval on the products that you use.

Thanks,
Joe_WaZoo

Joe_WaZoo said:
Oh that flat cable stuff. Works great for Malibu lights in the front yard, but on machines I have seen customers love & hate it. More in the Hate catagory.