Siemens S7 having trouble with using timers in FB's

Derman0524

So long story short I'm frustrated at work because I can't get my timer to actually time in the FB's. I have been using the SB4 blocks in my FB with instance DB's and using STAT for the name of the block.

I'm extremely new to Siemens but I want to get good at it but this has been really annoying. When I go online with the PLC and output a 1 to EN of the timer, it instantly displays a 1 at ENO, the timing never works even when putting a T#3s value at PT.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

So I ditched the SBF4 and I'm using a standard FB1 call from OB1. A normal on delay timer works in FB1 now but when I energize FB1 in OB1 with the starter input, the two outputs energize instantly without delay from FB1.

How does FB1 get delayed in OB1? If i run FB1, the coils properly get delayed but I just want the two outputs in OB1 to get delayed at the same time as FB1.

Photos attached

Siemens Help 1.png Siemens Help 2.png

So I added a 3rd rung and a return coil. Does the return coil return the boolean value at the FB1 block in OB1? That seemed to have made it work as I wanted too.

Siemens Help 3.png

So I ditched the SBF4 and I'm using a standard FB1 call from OB1. A normal on delay timer works in FB1 now but when I energize FB1 in OB1 with the starter input, the two outputs energize instantly without delay from FB1.

How does FB1 get delayed in OB1? If i run FB1, the coils properly get delayed but I just want the two outputs in OB1 to get delayed at the same time as FB1.

Photos attached

You probably want to try switching back to the IEC style timer, instead of the S5 timers (T4). The S5 timers are mostly there for backwards compatibility, and IEC style is recommended for most new applications.

The older style technically work, but if you have to call your FB more than once, things get complicated quickly.