Omron - some beginner questions

Dan_B

Hi,

I have a project that has to be done in 2 weeks. The system is controlled by a CS1G-CPU42 PLC from Omron. Presently they have a remote IO rack controlled through DeviceNet by a DRT1-COM Multiple IO Terminal. The DeviceNet master is in the main rack - a DRM21-V1 card. Two new IO racks will be added, each one with a DRT1-COM terminal. The DeviceNet was configured with the DeviceNet Configurator but the customer doesn't have the configuration file anymore.
On the CPU I have also a serial comm board, model no. CS1W-SCB41-V1 which is now used to communicate with an HMI.
I am a total beginner to Omron so I am starting from zero. Also I don't have a PLC to make some tests, the actual PLC is at the customer and they use it because the system is running 24h.
So, the questions:
1. How can I save the memory area when I am online? I would think that Omron should have something similar with ControlLogix (upload tags on save). What it will happen with the memory area when I will download the program (all my modifications will be done offline)? How can I set some values offline, values that will be downloaded all along with the logic?
2. I would like to use the serial comm board for programming purposes - there are some special settings to do or it's completely transparent (I just connect through it with CXProgrammer)?.
3. Are there any issues with the DeviceNet Configurator? From the documentation it looks like it's pretty straightforward. Can I make a full upload of the actual DeviceNet configuration before making any modifications?
4. Where I can find a more detailed documentation on CXProgrammer? I have to add 2 PID loops and in the CXProgrammer help the explanations on the PID instruction are quite poor ... in fact there is no explanation how to setup the P,I & D, where to write the SP, etc.

Thank you all!
Dan