Help with tuning cascade temperature loop

jrowe4

Hey PLCtalk! Wall of text comming in 3.2.1.. I'm a summer intern trying to learn how to work with PLCs and tuning processes. I've been given the task with trying to tune a counter flow drying system that uses cascade control. In our process, the slave loop controls a gas valve that regulates hot inlet air, and a master loop that controls the outlet temperature of our material. The inlet air is used to heat up the material causing calcination in our product. The idea of this cascade setup I'm guessing is that the slave loop is "supposed" to help against air flow problems in our process before the material temperature is affected by them. As this is my first attempt at tuning loops (hopefully I can make a living out of this one day, I love reading about control theory and plcs!) I have tried some attempts to solving this.

First thing, we are using a plc-5 using the INDEPENDANT PID equation. Also, I have come to understand that the numbers I enter for kp,ki,kd are scaled by .01, .001, .01 respectivly. I sort of understand what P,I,D do after reading rons website, but I don't have that operators intuitive feeling for it yet. I've attached a couple pictures in a zip giving you a better idea of my tuning problem.