You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread June 19th, 2019, 09:47 AM   #1
Baker in Virginia
Member
United States

Baker in Virginia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 259
RS Linx and RS Networx/DeviceNet - Cannot Drill down to backplane to see 1747-SDN

Good Morning ,

After all these years , I still can't wrap my head around DeviceNet . I have RS Networx / DeviceNet. I would like to upload the Scanlist from the 1747-SDN , but I cannot "drill down" to the 1747-SDN or the other cards . I'm communicating with Ethernet with a SLC 5/05 . I created another Ethernet Driver and was able to drill down to at least the CPU , but I see nothing else along the backplane.

Any thoughts ?

Thanks so much , like always .
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 09:52 AM   #2
Donnchadh
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Donnchadh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 996
Hi


Two things

1: you need to set up the pass through driver After you have the Ethernet driver set up

2: itís not like using it in clx or compact logic. You will
Open rs network for device net you point it to the slc processor set up
In the lads through driver.

Thanks

Donnchadh
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 10:20 AM   #3
Baker in Virginia
Member
United States

Baker in Virginia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 259
Thanks ,

1: you need to set up the pass through driver After you have the Ethernet driver set up .

I create an Ethernet Devices Driver , not a Ethernet/ IP Driver , correct ?
When I create the Ethernet Driver , I have Station Mapping . In Slot 0 I put
the IP Address of the CPU , what would I put in Slots 1,2,3 , etc. ?


2: itís not like using it in clx or compact logic. You will
Open rs network for device net you point it to the slc processor set up
In the lads through driver.

I'm sorry, I'm having a difficult time understanding this.
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 10:48 AM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,909
In RSLinx, you need to set up a "1747-SDNPT" Pass-Through Driver.


This is not a "drill down" mechanism like other drivers. You designate an SLC controller and a Slot number for a 1747-SDN, and that becomes the driver that lets you connect to the DeviceNet. You can have up to four 1747-SDN scanners configured in the driver.

The Pass-Through Driver depends on having another driver that talks to the SLC-500 already set up. For an SLC-5/05 you can use either Ethernet Devices or EtherNet/IP drivers.

The Pass-Through Driver also requires a handful of prerequisites, including a particular firmware in the 1747-SDN (at least 4.015) and a configuration of a backplane buffer of sufficient size.

Details on the firmware and M0/M1 file size are in the Knowledgebase and in the RSLinx Classic Help file.
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 11:09 AM   #5
Baker in Virginia
Member
United States

Baker in Virginia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 259
Thanks Ken .

In RSLinx, you need to set up a "1747-SDNPT" Pass-Through Driver.
I do not see the "1747-SDNPT" listed in the RS Linx Drivers ?

The Pass-Through Driver also requires a handful of prerequisites, including a particular firmware in the 1747-SDN (at least 4.015)
We have FRM 6.002

and a configuration of a backplane buffer of sufficient size.
Where do you create this ?

Thanks again,
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 11:18 AM   #6
Donnchadh
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Donnchadh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 996
Hi

Ken is correct on the name of the pass through driver I could not remember the name of it .as to why you can’t see the driver I am not sure
What version of linx are you using

On the buffet size I would not worry about that yet as if it is incorrect a message will pop up telling you the memory is incorrect size and it will tell you which M words to adjust.

I am almost sure ( dangerous that almost statement) that the driver is in linx lite but as I use linx classic I am 100% sure it is in that version.

Thanks

Donnchadh
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 11:31 AM   #7
roxusa
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

roxusa is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 749
I show the "DeviceNet Drivers {1770-KFD,SDNPT drivers} in RSLinx 4.0 on one of my laptops but not in my other running 2.57
__________________
B.Pedersen
if you are going to assume, assume you're wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 11:35 AM   #8
Donnchadh
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Donnchadh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 996
Hi

Can you upgrade your linx or install rs network for device net on
the other laptop

Donnchadh
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 11:42 AM   #9
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 966
you should really get a copy of RSNetworks for Device net
and the communications adapter it makes working with Device Net easier
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 11:55 AM   #10
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,909
I believe that the "DeviceNet Pass Through Drivers" was removed from a handful of releases of RSLinx Classic because of some 32/64 bit driver conflicts, but that's been quite a few years ago.

The driver selection is named "DeviceNet Drivers (1770-KFD,SDNPT)" in the pull-down selector for configuring a new driver.

I have those drivers in RSLinx Lite Version 3.81 on Windows 10 Professional.
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 12:12 PM   #11
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,450
Win10 Pro Linx Lite 4.11.00 has it too.

Last edited by dmargineau; June 19th, 2019 at 12:14 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 01:47 PM   #12
Baker in Virginia
Member
United States

Baker in Virginia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 259
Update ......

RS Linx Classic
I was able to find the driver -
DeviceNet Drivers [1784-PCD/PCIDS,1770-KFD,SDNPT Drivers ]

Then I selected Allen Bradley 1747-SDNPT
Select
Then i changed the dropdown to slot 2 for the 1747- Devicenet card

RS Networx / DeviceNet
Under network I select go online. It started browsing
On the message bar I first got ....Mode changed to online D810!1747-SDNPT-1
The next statement on message bar...The Browse Operation has timed out.
Verify that RS Linx is running and that the driver is correctly configured.

More questions........

I have not been around RS Networx/DeviceNet much . I'm surprised there
is not a Upload and Download Scanlist or anything like that. Is there anything like that ?

Also , I have SLC 500 rack in the office that does not have any nodes hooked up , is that why I'm getting these messages ?

Thanks so much in advance .
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 19th, 2019, 05:19 PM   #13
PLCnovice61
Member
Australia

PLCnovice61 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: home
Posts: 137
As an aside, l mucked around in rsl5000 and couldn't drill down in RSNetWorx for Devicenet, then later l realized l was using RSNetWorx for Controlnet, silly me.
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 20th, 2019, 02:52 AM   #14
Donnchadh
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Donnchadh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 996
Hi

This is just from memory but I think you select the SLC processor when setting up the pass through drives not the device net card. When you browse then from rs networks you then drill to the d net card.
Once the network is scanned right click in the white area and press upload from network. This will then up load from all nodes found and also upload your scan list in the d net card. You can then go into your d net card to see the scan list , make changes etc and then download scan list changes

Donnchadh
  Reply With Quote
Unread June 20th, 2019, 09:07 AM   #15
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,909
Quote:
I have SLC 500 rack in the office that does not have any nodes hooked up , is that why I'm getting these messages ?
Very probably, yes. The software can't browse for nodes that are not there.

The very first thing that a device does to "go online" with a network is send out a "duplicate MAC ID check" packet. If it doesn't get at least a "nope, that's not me" reply from another device, it knows there's nothing on the network or it's transmitting at the wrong speed, and it will not attempt further network traffic.

I'm not sure if RSNetworx can use the 1747-SDNPT driver to go online with a DeviceNet network that has no other participants, solely to upload the Scanlist from the 1747-SDN itself.

You could do that with a 1784-PCD or 1770-KFD or 1784-U2DHP because those create a two-node DeviceNet with the 1747-SDN.

In general once the 1747-SDN appears in the network browse in RSNetworx for DeviceNet, you can highlight it and select "upload" or "download".

Please remember that RSNetworx uses the same terminology as normal PLCs; "download" means transferring the configuration from your computer to the device. If you "download" from an empty RSNetworx project, you will erase the configuration in the 1747-SDN.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgraded FactoryTalk View to 8.2 . Worked fine yesterday . Cannot start RS Linx today Rob S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 August 17th, 2016 09:05 AM
Is RS Linx still on and loaded with the RS Logix 5000 CD ? Rob S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 21st, 2014 03:24 PM
Vista and RS Logix 500 starter and RS Linx Lite Skiroy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 July 25th, 2012 03:41 PM
blue screen with rs linx g.robert LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 24th, 2006 07:46 PM
Rs linx will not configure my 1747 pic! darrentpi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 23rd, 2005 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


.