You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 14th, 2019, 03:02 PM   #1
churcherikc
Member
United States

churcherikc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1
Studio 5000 IO Mapping Preferences

Hi all,

New to the forums and wanted to ask you guys a preferential question. With the newer versions of Studio you have various options on how to map your raw data into your program. The ones I can think of off the bat are mapping routines, aliasing, and program parameter connections. Which ones do you prefer? Personally, I've always leaned towards mapping routines because a) you can change IO online in the case of channel failure/module failure/etc. (unlike aliasing) and b) because you can still cross reference from the raw datatype (unlike program connections). What are your thoughts? Always looking for best practices.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 08:00 PM   #2
sparkie
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sparkie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: KS
Posts: 1,007
I like to map all the physical IO, as you said, for testing, but then you can run a "read input" routine at the beginning and a "write output" routine at the end. This allows you to make the asynchronous PLC function as a synchronous system, which I prefer.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2019, 11:00 PM   #3
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by churcherikc View Post
Hi all,

New to the forums and wanted to ask you guys a preferential question. With the newer versions of Studio you have various options on how to map your raw data into your program. The ones I can think of off the bat are mapping routines, aliasing, and program parameter connections. Which ones do you prefer? Personally, I've always leaned towards mapping routines because a) you can change IO online in the case of channel failure/module failure/etc. (unlike aliasing) and b) because you can still cross reference from the raw datatype (unlike program connections). What are your thoughts? Always looking for best practices.



anyone that aliases IO is the debil
  Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2019, 12:10 AM   #4
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is online now
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,381
I do what sparkie suggests.
I may even use more than one IO map for inputs, and more than one for outputs, if I have that many.


For bits, I just make a rung for each module (*), with branches for each input (output) bit, whether or not it is used in the program. If not used, they drive a NOP (for inputs) or have an AFI in front (for outputs.


I also do the mapping in the same order the modules are in the IO rack.
Makes it easy to find unused points in the future and assign them.


(*) Actually, I usually do this with UltraEdit just in text, and then import it into Logix. Much faster that way.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2019, 07:09 AM   #5
Vlad Romanov
Member
United States

Vlad Romanov is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrast View Post
I do what sparkie suggests.
I may even use more than one IO map for inputs, and more than one for outputs, if I have that many.


For bits, I just make a rung for each module (*), with branches for each input (output) bit, whether or not it is used in the program. If not used, they drive a NOP (for inputs) or have an AFI in front (for outputs.


I also do the mapping in the same order the modules are in the IO rack.
Makes it easy to find unused points in the future and assign them.


(*) Actually, I usually do this with UltraEdit just in text, and then import it into Logix. Much faster that way.
I second this. In addition, I typically replicate a rung which contains a debounced version of every input with a timer that I can modify if needed.
__________________
I'm looking for PLC work... http://solisplc.com/
My Allen Bradley PLC Course: PLC Programming
  Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2019, 04:56 PM   #6
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 304
By mapping, are you guys talking about creating a BOOL instruction for every input and every output, and using the bool only?

What's wrong with using alias? I usually use alias a lot more. I only create BOOLs if I need to send it to my HMI program. I thought using alias was easier than creating a separate BOOL for each i/o.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2019, 05:13 PM   #7
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,831
I'm an alias guy myself. But I can see the point the mapping guys make when it comes to quickly shifting I/O. If you cook an input and you have the I/O mapped, you change that input in one place and it carries through the program. If you are aliased you need to replace the input in every location it is used.

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2019, 05:19 PM   #8
Geoff White
Member
Australia

Geoff White is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 359
Come on rockwell, let us redefine an alias online!?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2019, 07:02 PM   #9
sparkie
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sparkie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: KS
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by alive15 View Post
By mapping, are you guys talking about creating a BOOL instruction for every input and every output, and using the bool only?

What's wrong with using alias? I usually use alias a lot more. I only create BOOLs if I need to send it to my HMI program. I thought using alias was easier than creating a separate BOOL for each i/o.
When you try to test with alias it is trickier because the system will always be updating the inputs or turning on outputs. If you map the IO you don't have to put in a bunch of forces to test.

As far aa rdast said, +1 for mapping in the same order as the rack. I'm also ANAL about labeling my spares in the program so I don't have to fight for them.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 09:32 AM   #10
TheWaterboy
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

TheWaterboy is offline
 
TheWaterboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: State of Denial
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrast View Post
I do what sparkie suggests.

(*) Actually, I usually do this with UltraEdit just in text, and then import it into Logix. Much faster that way.
I wish to learn this power. I have imported L5K many times but are you importing just rungs in plain text? as in SOR XIC OTE ETC? I have never had the need but thats about to change with a 30 PLC project coming up.
Please show me an example.

+1 for UltraEdit BTW... Regex expression editing was a blessing from above.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio 5000 download question RBergmann LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 October 10th, 2017 07:18 AM
Studio 5000 download question RBergmann LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 9th, 2017 10:59 AM
EDS not registered in Studio 5000 jkaranas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 25th, 2017 12:53 PM
RSLogix 5000 and FactoryTalk View Studio Question tranmeister LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 July 30th, 2015 03:33 PM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 05:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


.