You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 22nd, 2018, 01:38 PM   #1
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,812
Hey Panel Builders... any good wire tie guns?

Anyone have any recommendation for small wire ties guns... other than dykes and needle nose

I use a lot of small wire ties (4 inch) and had a good gun that would cut the extra as it tighten the strap but its gone now and I have given up looking, I have a couple others but they suck, most of the time dont cut or slip as they are tightening, I remember seeing a rechargeable one once but the price was ridiculous
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways

Last edited by geniusintraining; October 22nd, 2018 at 01:40 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2018, 01:50 PM   #2
scott.lawrence
Member
United States

scott.lawrence is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 125
not much panel building lately, but I still use these...


https://www.panduit.com/en/products/...ries/gs2b.html
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2018, 01:55 PM   #3
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 146
I have one I used a lot when I was working in Alaska rewiring process machines. It had an adjustable tension feature, from small wire ties to larger ones. It removed the excess and left it smooth where it was removed so it wouldn't scratch the back of your hand. I don't know if it was by Panduit or T & B. I can check and let you know. Manually operated.
__________________
Detroit City Limit: An Automation Alley Community
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2018, 02:02 PM   #4
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,238
+1 Panduit.
when I worked for am oem, that's all we used after I got a good cut from a tie that was cut off with some snips.

I used one different from the posting, costs a little more, but worth it.

james
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2018, 02:07 PM   #5
mendonsy
Member
United States

mendonsy is offline
 
mendonsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Western NY
Posts: 739
I have two different versions made by T&B. Both work well.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2018, 02:52 PM   #6
scott.lawrence
Member
United States

scott.lawrence is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Mcquade View Post
after I got a good cut from a tie that was cut off with some snips.



if the scars on my hands from badly cut tie wraps were dollars, I could take a nice, long vacation...
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2018, 04:19 PM   #7
JaxGTO
Member
United States

JaxGTO is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kalieefornia
Posts: 636
We don't let our panel shop use wire ties. I find them to difficult for someone in the future to trouble-shoot a panel. Especially if they lost the drawings (or an Engineer has them locked up). We only use Panduit and the retainers (sometimes a short piece of air lines works too) to hold the wires in while the covers are off. For wires going to panel doors we use the wrap every few inches. This way if you need to tug a wire to trace it, it will still move.
__________________
I have to use Rockwell Software!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2018, 08:33 PM   #8
g.mccormick
Member
United States

g.mccormick is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: IN
Posts: 517
I just have this cheap set from AD. Cheap, but work exactly as they should.
https://www.automationdirect.com/adc..._Tools/PIN.003
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2018, 09:12 PM   #9
BITS N BYTES
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

BITS N BYTES is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 402
+1 for Panduit GTS-E. Ergonomic handle and easy to adjust.
I'm not a believer in "cheap" tools and prefer to invest in quality ones I know will be reliable over the long term.


Have had the GTS-E for 9 years. Never let me down and still going strong.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2018, 01:16 AM   #10
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,238
JaxGTO,

100% agree with no wire ties in the wire duct.
53 cable ties in a 10 ft section was a pain.

we use the ties for the wiring directly out of the rack to the duct.
we cut short pieces of the duct cover to keep the wiring in place as we wired the panel.

james
  Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2018, 08:55 AM   #11
JeffKiper
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

JeffKiper is offline
 
JeffKiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,165
GIT we use several different brands here is one.
https://www.andfel.com/cable-ties/in...ols-12001.html
__________________
There should be a minimum IQ before people can breed.

FS Eng (TÜV Rheinland, #11004/15, Machinery)
  Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2018, 08:10 AM   #12
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,812
Thank you all... I have a couple on order, hope one of them works
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2018, 09:36 AM   #13
Rockfordmfg
Member
United States

Rockfordmfg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 18
We had a demo of a HellermanTyton tie wrap gun and it worked very well. One of the best I've seen. Didn't purchase because we couldn't justify the cost with the amount of tie wraps that we use. Part number is 110-70083. https://www.hellermanntyton.us/products/110-70083/
  Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2018, 02:42 PM   #14
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,285
Really, it almost doesn't matter.
I have a Panduit gun in my toolbag, and one from Automation Direct.
As long as you set tension proplerly, they all tighten up correctly, and shear the zip-tie end leaving nothing to cause bleeding later on.


That said, if you are ever doing network (Ethernet/Fiber) cabling, DO NOT USE ZIP TIES (emphasis) PERIOD.
A roll of Double Sided Velcro is the ticket for those applications!!!!!
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Panel Pictures: Not So Good akreel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 195 April 12th, 2014 02:11 PM
control panel building stu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 214 October 11th, 2013 07:25 AM
What is the standard color coding (wires) for a good panel? ckchew666 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 50 January 8th, 2011 03:58 PM
Let me know how to communicate between two plc & how to configure .... farooq mohd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 13th, 2006 10:53 PM
Panel Building bulletin blues LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 October 24th, 2005 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


.