slc 5/02 help

BasementBob

I am a machine tool electrician have been for about 15 years, recently decided to get int he programing field. I always worked on new build and once the machine was built the programmers would step in and do there thing, now I wanna give it a shot. So heres my question: I have a windows xp platform with a usb to rs232 cable to a DB25M to a DB9F adapter then to my 1747-pic then to my processor. I have been told this set-up works from an engineer at work and from other web sites that it doesn't. I have the RSlogix 500 software and version 1.7 RSLinx When I configure my rack and goto the I/O configuration then read I/O config i get an error that says"valid node numbers are between 0 and -1" does this mean i can't talk to my processor or do I have to change something else? I am lost I just wanna get online with it. I start some classes in a few months but thought I could get familiar with some of the software, any help would be a step in the right direction. Thanks

The 1747-PIC will not function with Windows XP, you have to have a USB to DH-485 converter of the kind that AB sells which is the 1747-UIC module. Another one of those gotchas that come along in our technological age. Once you have the UIC module, you can use either DH-485 or RS-232 to communicate with your processor, assuming it can do either or both.

randylud said:
The 1747-PIC will not function with Windows XP

Randy, this is not entirely true. I have Windows XP Pro SP2 installed and have used the old PIC. I do have a hardware serial port which is probably the key. Also, RSLinx cannot be running as a service which, I think, is how it installas as a default. To not run as a service, you have to open the RSLinx Classic Launch Control Panle and uncheck run as service. Then you have to play around with the drivers in the RSLinx configuration to make it all work....