ControlLogix5000: Timers on Rungs

Colt Hero

Sorry for these very basic questions, but I'm not a PLC programmer (per se):

It appears that timers always seem to appear at the very end of a rung.

It's still OK to put them in the *middle* of a rung (followed by a contact testing for DONE), correct? Then, while the timer is not yet DONE, the rest of the rung doesn't execute, right?

I have to re-load this application when I'm done and there's no way to test anything prior, so it kind of has to work right the first time.

Sorry for these very basic questions, but I'm not a PLC programmer (per se):

It appears that timers always seem to appear at the very end of a rung.

It's still OK to put them in the *middle* of a rung (followed by a contact testing for DONE), correct? Then, while the timer is not yet DONE, the rest of the rung doesn't execute, right?

I have to re-load this application when I'm done and there's no way to test anything prior, so it kind of has to work right the first time.
Yes, you can put a timer in the middle of a rung.
Go ahead.

Here is an example of how I typically like to structure a timer for use in a Logix 5000 project...

Lgx5000_Timer_Example.jpg

Note how the timer is still positioned to the right of the rung for clarity. The mapped input bit (im), in this case, precedes the timer to enable it. The done bit is addressed underneath in parallel. The final user-defined program flag is then positioned after the done bit. This is one clear way to structure a simple timer's logic. Wherever you need the flag you use that on the relevant rung(s).

You can position the timer instruction mid-rung, and then place the done bit instruction immediately after it, and then followed by the intended logic to be controlled by the timer, and that is fine too. But is it as clear to look at or to read?

It's a user preference to some degree. What do you think you would prefer though?

Regards,
George

Here is another example showing what you are proposing...