Beginner here. RSLogix 500. Input sensor must lose signal between cycles.

PLCplease

Good Day. I wrote a program to check if ten input sensor conditions were met. The program works fine and if all the input conditions are met the output signals are sent.

But I don't know how to make all of the input sensors force themselves to clear between cycles.

In a simplified fashion, I have a retroreflector, a button, and a light.

When I push the button, the light will come on if there is something in the beam of the laser.

But if I push the button again, I need the light to stay off IF the beam has not been cleared before another item breaks the beam.

I don't know how to make the PLC know how to remember if the signal has been broken or not.

I don't even know if this is a simple problem. I've written 6 programs since the beginning of the year that all work how I want them to, thanks to your informative posts. But I'm not sure how to solve this problem.

I've never needed a program to remember what happened last time. Everything usually just resets when the cycle is finished.

I'd be happy to post my program so you can see my logic up to this point. I must warn you all that I use the most basic logic possible because I am not advanced yet at any of this. I almost never leave the basic tab with XIO XIC.

I would appreciate any guidance that anyone could offer, though. Otherwise, it's off to Google!

Thanks

I'm not even sure if I'm asking this question correctly.

Right now if I push the button ten times the light comes on ten times.

I need the light to come on the first time only, unless the sensor changes state in between button presses.

I just need a general guidance here, I can probably figure out the details. If someone can point me in the right direction.

You can't change the input states, so you have to do the thinking in the PLC.

If you put a ONS after the inputs that then latches a bit which allows the button to light the lamp.