?????

SeanLee

This is probably a stubid question but i am going to school for Industrail Electrician. Ihave found myself addicted to this web site and all the cool control progect everyone is working on. Iwant to know if all of you are Ennginers or are any of you just electricians that get to do this major control set up.

Speaking for myself, I graduated High School and enrolled in the School of Real Life where I've attended every day since. I tell you this because some of the members of this forum are indeed engineers, and some wanna be. All levels of formal schooling are represented here, as well as all types of occupations.

Good luck in your sparky classes.

I am an Industrial Electrician as well. Project development is sadly only a small part of my job but it keeps me motivated. If I see one more burnt out light bulb today....Stick to the studies, it can be very rewarding.

Education: High School, 8 years in US Navy, A.S. Degree,
15 years of OJT.

I got the most out of working with experienced people, watching what they did, listening to what they said, and asking questions.

Education

Your first investment dollar SHOULD always be education. That said consider this:

Student A decides to go to school to be an Electrical Engineer.
Cost of school tuition and books: ~ $4000 / yr.(University) low end, hehe) $16,000 total.
Time: 4 tough years

Student B decides to go to school for an A.S. Electronics Technology.
Cost of school tuition and books: $3000 yr (Jr. College) $6000 total.
Time: 2 tough years.

Student B doesn't pay an additional $10,000. Gets job after graduation for $13 hr entry level. First year makes $26,000, 2nd year jumps jobs for $15 hr, makes $30,000.