help me decide between brands (Newbie here)

Skidood

Hi all, hope your day is going well.

I am self-employed and don't have deep pockets nor do I have enough work.
I want to start a programming project for a PLC and HMI for a moderately complex machine.
I would prefer to use an all-in-1 HMI/PLC product.
I have pretty limited experience and its with RSLogix 500.

I have played with programming software from:
-EZAutomation
-Unitronics
The EZAutomation software appears to require that you manually enter a memory address for each tag.....I don't recall RS doing this.
The Unitronics software looked hard to use and hard on the eyes..
I don't have RSView software (and can't afford it) otherwise I would use that since I am more comfortable working with RSLogix and it seemed that it is much easier to create a program.
One option is to use an EZAutomation panel with an Allen Bradley PLC since they support that...but then you are probably using 2 different programming software packages at the same time.

I'm feeling bewildered.

About the machine this is for:
-4 DC inputs, 8 outputs
2 temp inputs (heavily referenced in the program) , one 4-20 mA input
-no motion control or servo stuff (mainly valve activation based on temps)
-down the road I would like to put in some recipes, but to start, it would just be a main ladder with maybe 4 subroutines.

Also, is there any way I can get a copy of RSView and trial it without actually having to buy it?

Thanks in advance.

PS if there is anyone in the West Toronto/Mississauga area who has some free time and can teach me a few basics, say over a 4 hour time period, I would be more than happy. :)

Last edited:
If you're looking for an all-in-one, I've had success in the past using Horner Electric controllers. Software is free to download and try out.

+1 for the Horner OCS line. No problems here.