Program Structure

Jieve

I am a mechanical engineer with a mechatronics background working closely with a co-worker learning to program Siemens S7-300/400 series PLCs. My co-worker was trained as an electrician/programmer here in Germany and worked in industry programming PLCs for something like 5 years where he programmed a Daimler Chrysler assembly line, and I think Volkswagen as well. I come from a different background, having programmed microcontrollers in C and some assembly. Due to his training he has a very specific procedure which he follows when programming and he sometimes has difficulty explaining why when I ask him why things are done a certain way. Sometimes he can explain the reasoning behind his methodology, other times “that’s just the way I learned it”. While my questions may be someone basic, I was hoping some of you with experience could fill in the why gaps and give me some insight.

1) Is it better to structure your program so that every rung of your entire program is read every program cycle? Or is it better to structure it so that certain portions are skipped (jumps) if unnecessary. For example, say you have different machine modes, manual and automatic. Should the code always run through every network, or is it ok to include a condition “if Automatic Mode – jump over Manual code”.

2) He says that only function calls should be made in OB1 (Organization Block 1, Siemens S7-300) and no code, and no conditions for calling code. Is this reasonable and why?