VFD Troubleshooting

GregPLC

I am not an electrician, but like all of us, are sometimes required to be one when troubleshooting a VFD. Does anyone know of a good reference, website, or other learning tool for troubleshooting VFD's at the 101 level with a scope? We have a very nice scope, but not a lot of knowledge applying it in the higher voltage applications for troubleshooting. Where's a good starting point?

TIA,

Greg

And isolate the ground lug on the power cord - a the prong to two prong adaptor, otherwise you could blown up your scope

I have found that a scope is not very helpful in diagnosing drives. Usually either every leg has an output or it doesn't. You can check this with a good DMM. The signal is so digitized it just looks like garbage on a scope.

Forget the scope or any other test equipment on the motor leads.

Use the keypad to diagnose drive output problems. The signals are so fast and complex on the motor leads that very little useful information can be gained from them in the typical field situation.

And, as always, and as mentioned above, watch out for safety issues. And be aware that the DC bus in the drive can store dangerous levels of energy for several minutes after power down.

VFDs

The scope isnt needed in the Allen Bradley, Mitz, or Toshiba drives. The installation manual with the maintenance manual are all that are needed with a good DVM. The front panel has many trouble shooting points covered. It will tell you most of what you need. There are over 100 parameters to look at. If you cant get it going, the maintenance manual gives you DVM points to help isolate where the problem is. The Allen Bradley Plus 2 manual shows how to remove parts and test the resistance of the multijunction transistors. It supplies the values that are normal and what is considered "damaged". Hope this helps:) Bruce. Have a good weekend!

DickDV said:
Forget the scope or any other test equipment on the motor leads.