Tips and Wisdom for a New Programmer?

Shiro485

Hey all,
thanks for having me, this place has been a most excellent resource. So I am new to programming after a few years of doing controls installation I was finally lucky enough to land a programming gig.
So far its going very smooth, the company I work with deals mainly in rockwell and siemens systems and designs modular fluid equipment, mainly for the paper and pulp industry.
I very much enjoy the challenge of always having something new to learn everyday, and am looking to be as valuable of an asset as possible. Im looking for any tidbits of wisdom or tips some of you vets might be willing to pass on to a youngin like myself.

Any good reading resources you would recommend?

Any organizational tips to keep from getting yourself lost when dealing with a large project?

Any absolute do-nots I should be aware of before making the mistake myself?

Any tips on streamlining the HMI creation with PLC program development?

Hey thanks a bunch, and excuse my newbness when I get stuck and ask dumb questions. :) chow

Brian

Don't use an "Examine if Open" instruction for a Normally Closed Stop pushubtton. Don't use two Output instructions that have the same address (the double-coil syndrome).

Don't write "look what I can do!" programs.

What I mean by that is don't use "fancy" instructions for simple tasks. Just because you CAN write a complicated program with two rungs and a bunch of bit shifts and sequencers doesn't mean you SHOULD. That said, don't be afraid to use those instructions if you need to. But a lot of them are really just left in there for legacy reasons.