You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 19th, 2004, 05:45 AM   #1
The_Wanderer
Member
Ireland

The_Wanderer is offline
 
The_Wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 96
E-series HMI and Modems

Hello All,

Has anybody else had problems communicating through a modem to an E-series HMI?

We have been placing external modems on our machines for a while now, and have no major problems establishing communications with the PLC. The systems in questions are usually an FX series PLC and an E-series HMI (E100, E200, or E700 depending on the system.). The modem cable is plugged into the back of the HMI, and talks with the PLC in passthrough mode. Online monitoring and upload/dowload all work fine. However, if we try to upload or download to the HMI itself, problems occur. Sometimes the software can't find the HMI, sometimes it can. When it does find the HMI and try communicating, the HMI will switch to transfer mode, but will then freeze, and only start working again after a powerdown and reboot.

I have tried adjusting the communications parameters with no success and played with the pass through settings on the HMI with no results either.

The modem itself should not cause problems, as the way I see it in our setup, the modem is merely a verrrrrryyyy long extension lead for the programming cable.

Usually this is not a big problem, as HMI changes are very rare (I never make mistakes ), and our customers are all here in Ireland, with nothing more than 3 hours drive away so that if a chnage really is neccessary, it can be done.
Now, though, one of our machines is in Austria and needs a small HMI change. Bit too far to drive now... I am headed over there in a week or so, but need to solve this problem before then.

Any suggestions?
__________________

Brute force and ignorance are wonderful tools...
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2004, 07:12 AM   #2
Pierre
Lifetime Supporting Member
Vatican City State

Pierre is offline
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,665
Same thing with E900 !!!

I have the same problem with an E-900. It will not go out of "Transfer mode" IF I do a "READ" or verify of the program within.

It does however works fine when I only download.

The techs from Mitsu told me it was a "bug", they didnot actually use the term bug but they told me I had to live with it.

And this is the same wether I use an ethernet connexion or a modem connexion.

I just use an heartbeat in the PLC and a relay to cycle power to the HMI. So when it hangs it gets the REBOOT.
__________________
If it looks like a Cat...

Last edited by Pierre; February 19th, 2004 at 07:14 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2004, 07:31 AM   #3
BTalbot
Member
United States

BTalbot is offline
 
BTalbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 319
Are you using E-Designer 6.1? You've probably already tried this but i had a similiar problem using a USB to serial the E-615 kept locking up in traser mode until I enable the set speed manually otpion in the coms setting of e-designer.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2004, 10:09 AM   #4
Mylo
Member
Ireland

Mylo is offline
 
Mylo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 135
G'Day the Wanderer,

If I remember rightly, the Com settings between the E-Terminal are 38k however under the modem they are 9600, when you transfer you need to change the settings in the e-designer to the lower baudrate to allow transfer over modem, every time you connect this way. When the E-terminal "Resets" after transfer its comms return to 38k as a default.


Cheers

Mylo

THis may certainly be the case with some "Do#$3lly machinery anyway

SSSccccccchhh Mums the word !!! shutit shutit shutit
__________________
Mylo

I Know that you believe what you think I said, but I am not sure that what you heard is actually what I meant !
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2004, 01:10 PM   #5
The_Wanderer
Member
Ireland

The_Wanderer is offline
 
The_Wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 96
Ahh, no, its not for THEM, Mylo. Wouldn't worry if it was...

Too busy to try today, will try changing down to 9600 on Monday, but I think I already have. Maybe Pierre is right, I just might need to buy some RAID! Die Bugs Die!
__________________

Brute force and ignorance are wonderful tools...
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2004, 10:46 AM   #6
The_Wanderer
Member
Ireland

The_Wanderer is offline
 
The_Wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 96
Okay, so Monday turned into Tuesday turned into Wednesday...

I found myself a bit of time and have been playing with the modem/HMI settings some more. Still no joy.

Pierre, I had the same problem with an E700 a while back, where it would hang in transfer mode when I read or verified the program. Never tried downloading, as the machine was in production and I didn't want to risk losing everything (the HMI erases all memory before receiving new program). Now I am working with an E200, and I can't even get that to TRY a read or verify. Maybe there is an internal difference in communications settings?

I have tried Mylo's suggestion of lowering the baudrate, didn't help.

BTalbot, "set speed manually" didn't help either.

Trying Mitsi tech support tomorrow, but since the modem is no longer supported by them, might have trouble.
__________________

Brute force and ignorance are wonderful tools...
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modems with Mitsubishi Tony.Morgan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 5th, 2004 06:15 AM
PPI Network with Radio Modems robertopsilva LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 23rd, 2003 09:18 AM
Using modems with FX2n AndEdtec LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 28th, 2003 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.


.