You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 7th, 2019, 05:05 PM   #1
Geoff White
Member
Australia

Geoff White is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 384
Self Powered Remote Sensor

We have a customer that wants to have a portable level sensor that can be moved between tanks and signal when the tank has dropped below a level.

To do this the sensor (probably a capacitive sensor clamped to a level tube) would need to be connected to a box that is providing both power for the sensor and wireless comms.

The remote box would need to be rechargeable.

I know there a numerous ways this could be built from various IOT boards but is there some real product in this niche?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 05:11 PM   #2
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 703
http://www.tanksentinel.com/
__________________
David M. Camp

Unlocking the power of IOT in Oil & Gas!
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 05:13 PM   #3
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,206
We have a sample on the shelf from Digi that sounds close to what you might need:

https://www.digi.com/products/networ...connect-sensor

We have not field tested it yet.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 07:32 PM   #4
Geoff White
Member
Australia

Geoff White is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 384
Thanks guys.

The customer is a tightarse and wants a single portable sensor because they only use one tank at a time and have heaps of them. The tanks are in close proximity so cellular data is not needed.

The Digi looks nice but it uses non rechargable batteries that only last 2 years at 2 samples per day!

Last edited by Geoff White; February 7th, 2019 at 07:46 PM. Reason: clarification
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 08:59 PM   #5
danw
Member
United States

danw is offline
 
danw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest, USA
Posts: 2,964
A typical 4-20mA transmitter will run for several days continuously on a triple 9V transistor battery (3 batteries wired in series) pack.

Banner node radios operate on a lithium D cell for a couple years and can be turned off with the faceplate pushbutton.

Find the correct type of 2 wire loop powered level transmitter (pressure, ultrasonic, radar, whatever), power that with relatively cheap 9V batteries that are easily replaced and a Banner node radio and gateway radio. Gateway radio is near whatever you're sending the level signal to and is 24Vdc powered.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 09:30 PM   #6
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by danw View Post
A typical 4-20mA transmitter will run for several days continuously on a triple 9V transistor battery (3 batteries wired in series) pack.

Banner node radios operate on a lithium D cell for a couple years and can be turned off with the faceplate pushbutton.

Find the correct type of 2 wire loop powered level transmitter (pressure, ultrasonic, radar, whatever), power that with relatively cheap 9V batteries that are easily replaced and a Banner node radio and gateway radio. Gateway radio is near whatever you're sending the level signal to and is 24Vdc powered.
That reminds me of a little tester I had that I got from a Banner rep. It was a small box with spring terminals and a DC micro plug and a couple of LEDs. You could plug in a photocell or prox switch and test it by looking at the LEDs. It ran off 3 9V batteries. I think they were available for sale and might make a good basis for the OP to build something.

https://www.alliedelec.com/product/b...dbq5/70168288/
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

Last edited by OkiePC; February 7th, 2019 at 09:33 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 09:37 PM   #7
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,206
Another place to look:
https://www.onsetcomp.com/products/data-loggers/zw-008
https://www.onsetcomp.com/products/d...ggers/ux90-004

We used Hobo Loggers for temporary temperature monitoring at a food plant where I used to work. They are surprisingly robust and easy to use and relatively economical. We stuck them inside freezers as low as -40F. Ours were not the wireless type, we had to retrieve them and upload the data. Their tech support was good too, so you might call them with your application and see what they recommend.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2019, 12:05 AM   #8
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 917
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NGRqX5sJZ0U
  Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2019, 06:43 AM   #9
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,300
check out signalfire or oleumtech. but neither is really cheap.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2019, 04:35 PM   #10
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,532
this maybe a stupid question, but how will the customer be able to tell
one tank level from another?

james
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2019, 12:44 PM   #11
Dirt
Member
Sweden

Dirt is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff White View Post
The customer is a tightarse and wants a single portable sensor because they only use one tank at a time and have heaps of them.
Made me wonder, who is moving around the sensor for free?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2019, 12:56 PM   #12
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 338
If you are keen on the idea of building your own.

An Arduino with analog in, a 4-20mA level sensor (an ultrasonic sensor from Automation Direct), and a rechargeable battery could help your frugal friend. Then you could pull the data off the Arduino using WiFi over ModbusTCP.
You may even be able to mount the Arduino and battery on top of the level sensor in a small plastic box.

Battery life should be OK but read rates and sensor selection will determine battery life.
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2019, 10:27 PM   #13
Geoff White
Member
Australia

Geoff White is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirt View Post
Made me wonder, who is moving around the sensor for free?
The sight lines are a tube running up the side of the tank. The sensor would only need to be clipped to tube at arms reach from the bottom of the tank.

It's not a stupid idea, just half arsed.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2019, 12:40 AM   #14
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,206
So you really just need a single discrete input? Or is it going to be analog?
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2019, 02:29 AM   #15
Geoff White
Member
Australia

Geoff White is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 384
Just a single digital input (probably a capacitve prox)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are the 3 processor modes? StoneNewB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 22nd, 2015 07:13 AM
Troubleshooting Remote Slave D4-RS Link light error wildcatherder LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 14th, 2009 12:15 PM
Sensor battery powered checker joeparrish LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 July 28th, 2009 05:36 PM
omron device net remote temperature sensor unit newton LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 2nd, 2007 06:40 AM
PNP to NPN how. Billando LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 19th, 2002 04:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


.