You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 8th, 2019, 08:15 AM   #1
RoTaTech
Member
Canada

RoTaTech is offline
 
RoTaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cobourg, ON, Canada
Posts: 385
FACTis HMI Software

Two questions:

We are about to replace an old(er) HMI on a machine with FACTis - another old piece of software. We about to buy a *new* old PC -- that is, brand new, but with PIII-era hardware. It must run DOS, have a parallel port for the dongle, have slot for an ISA RS422 card, and serial or PS/2 mouse. USB is useful for loading the software into it. But the prices being charged for hardware that I can literally go pick out of the e-waste bin, is ludicrous!

Q1: Does anyone else on this form use Factis, and if so, what is the most modern hardware on which you have successfully run it?

Q2: If any of you /used/ to use Factis, might you have a dongle - or several - for it lying around, that you would part with?
__________________
"Nice mirror!" said Tom reflectively.

Last edited by RoTaTech; February 8th, 2019 at 08:17 AM. Reason: punctuation
  Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2019, 03:47 PM   #2
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 1,130
What is the obstacle to using a more modern HMI software? Which PLC/controller is involved?
__________________
Automation Programmer
PLC / HMI / SCADA / SQL
System Upgrades & Conversions
------------------------
Visit: contrologica.com
Email: info@contrologica.com
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2019, 03:30 AM   #3
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,393
Have you priced the replacement with something modern to bring it forward to the man holding the chequebook?

I know of one, now dead, offshore drillship that was saved by a 10$ part off of eBay. Had the person selling it know that it was going to save an upgrade of several thousand dollars, the price would have been different.
Have you had a look there? I know it's a longshot nowadays, but you never know.

Have you looked to see if the dongle can be reverse engineered?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2019, 08:21 AM   #4
RoTaTech
Member
Canada

RoTaTech is offline
 
RoTaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cobourg, ON, Canada
Posts: 385
We have 24 machines with the majority running Factis connected to Siemens 505 series PLCs. I'm sure I could find something just as capable and more modern, but with the time and effort they've put in here, I'd have to prove out a change before they would.

Over the next two to three weeks I'll be delving into some changes on the HMIs, so will get to know the software, and what we really need from it ... But change may have to wait for machine #2 - I've until March 1 to get this one back in commission, and likely won't have time to re-write an HMI. But, open to ideas. It may be a prime time to quickly learn AdvancedHMI ...
__________________
"Nice mirror!" said Tom reflectively.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2019, 02:27 PM   #5
curlyandshemp
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

curlyandshemp is offline
 
curlyandshemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,877
Wow, FactIS have not heard that name in a long time. Developed by Tom Bertha and Marion _____ ( last name escapes me ) out of Livonia MI.

YACL

Yet
Another
Computer
Language

was the windows big brother of the DOS ICM Alert
__________________
Work to Ride,
Then Ride to Work

I would rather have a bottle in front of me..
than have a frontal lobotomy
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2019, 03:31 PM   #6
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoTaTech View Post
have a parallel port for the dongle,
Have you checked if you can get a dongle upgrade?

I had a VisiWin project with a LPT dongle there was a USB upgrade available for at a decent price after the all-in-one touchscreen died.
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Web HMI software with OPC mikas_m LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 26th, 2018 06:52 PM
RSLogix 5000 and third party HMI software turbohamad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 16th, 2018 03:48 PM
Programming software for AB panel view plus HMI for rich graphics backendcode LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 April 24th, 2018 05:56 PM
HMI Software with ControlLogix 5555 RZR LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 19th, 2013 05:53 AM
HMI SCADA software Rmiller LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 December 22nd, 2002 04:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


.