FT View 8.2 ME - Controls Intern

ecko665

Hey Guys, i'm a student working as an intern and I have a task that I need a bit of support on.

I have been asked to configure the system to use Windows-Linked user accounts. I added a group to the active directory with members, and linked the FT group to the newly created windows group along with updating the Runtime Security letters for each member. I have 5 members in the group { Engineer, Operator, Supervisor, Maintenance, Admin }.

\\\

At the moment, the PLC controls the user login and stores the credentials. Once an operator / supervisor logs in, the appropriate access is given via the HMI, etc.

\\\

I have been asked to forget about the PLC, and see if I can manipulate the user login / log off via the Windows Group I have created.

I've attached a pic of the displays I have with this project. Each member will have some access to these displays, weather they are supervisors, engineers, etc. I am thinking of using the Goto Display function, but I am not sure if this is the right path.

The plan is to add logon button to the <Main Menu> Display, then I want to jump to <Encapsulation> for example if the <Operator> logs in.

Is the GoTo function the best approach?

Any help would be appreciated,

All the best.

Displays.PNG

Hi ecko665,
Yes. You have to add logon button to the <Main Menu> Display.
GoTO display is also the option. But you can also try Giving Security to Particular Display.
You can right click on any display then go to Display Setting Then Choose Security Code (A/B/C/D......) Which is related to user(Engineer/ Operator/ Supervisor....) whom you want to show that display.
Before that,
In Explorer window which is at left of the screen, Go to Runtime Security
Then, Add your user(Engineer/ Operator/ Supervisor....) & give them Security codes as per your requirement.
Thanks & Regards
Sagar K

Thanks for the update, much appreciated.