You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 1st, 2010, 09:30 AM   #1
Marie1982
Member
Canada

Marie1982 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: House
Posts: 121
MSG from MicroLogix 1400 to MicroLogix 1500

Hi,

I want to create MSG between MicroLogix 1400 and MicroLogix 1500 using DF1 protocol*. ML1400 will be the Master. I want to use DB9 port on each device.

What is the correct wiring configuration? The manuals seem to ask for a 1761-NET-AIC, but I'm not using RS-485 network. Do I really need the 1761-NET-AIC?

We also may be considering using radio modems between them also in the future, what will be the wiring configuration then?

What I thought of right now is ML1400 DB9 port to round port of 1761-NET-AIC using 1761-CBL-PM02 cable, and ML1500 DB9 port to 1761-NET-AIC DB9 port using 1763-NC01 cable. Is that correct?

When I will use radio modems i would do the following:

ML1400 DB9 port to round port of 1761-NET-AIC #1 using 1761-CBL-PM02 cable
1761-NET-AIC #1 DB9 port to radio modem #1

Radio modem #2 to DB9 port of 1761-NET-AIC #2 DB9 port
ML1500 DB9 port to round port of 1761-NET-AIC #2 using 1761-CBL-PM02 cable

Can someone tell me if this is correct?

Thanks.

Mary
  Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2010, 09:31 AM   #2
Marie1982
Member
Canada

Marie1982 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: House
Posts: 121
Anyone?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2010, 01:02 PM   #3
sthompson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Canada

sthompson is offline
 
sthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vernon, BC
Posts: 1,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marie1982 View Post
Hi,

I want to create MSG between MicroLogix 1400 and MicroLogix 1500 using DF1 protocol*. ML1400 will be the Master. I want to use DB9 port on each device.

What is the correct wiring configuration? The manuals seem to ask for a 1761-NET-AIC, but I'm not using RS-485 network. Do I really need the 1761-NET-AIC?

We also may be considering using radio modems between them also in the future, what will be the wiring configuration then?

What I thought of right now is ML1400 DB9 port to round port of 1761-NET-AIC using 1761-CBL-PM02 cable, and ML1500 DB9 port to 1761-NET-AIC DB9 port using 1763-NC01 cable. Is that correct?

When I will use radio modems i would do the following:

ML1400 DB9 port to round port of 1761-NET-AIC #1 using 1761-CBL-PM02 cable
1761-NET-AIC #1 DB9 port to radio modem #1

Radio modem #2 to DB9 port of 1761-NET-AIC #2 DB9 port
ML1500 DB9 port to round port of 1761-NET-AIC #2 using 1761-CBL-PM02 cable

Can someone tell me if this is correct?

Thanks.

Mary
Well, let's first start with the distance between the two PLCs. How far apart are they? The DF1 Protocol is over RS-232 is only good for a limited distance. If you can use RS-232, you will need a Null Modem Crossover Cable.

If it is beyond the limits of RS-232, then you will have to use something like the 1761-NET-AIC to extend the usable distance.

As to the Radio Modems, that will depend on the Make and Model of the Modem. Usually they are RS-232 DF1 Half Duplex from what I have seen on this list. So, those you should be able to connect directly to the DB9 RS-232 Port on the PLC.

Stu....
__________________
There's never time to do it right, but there is always time to do it over!
No trees were killed in the creation of this message.
However, many electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2010, 10:46 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,007
You can connect the Channel 1 (DB9) RS-232 ports on the MicroLogix 1400 and the MicroLogix 1500 directly together using a Null-Modem type RS-232 serial cable. While 50 feet is the conventional limit for this kind of signalling, a good low-capacitance cable can allow several hundred feet. Unless you are very familiar with RS-232 device selection and troubleshooting I recommend against exceeding 50 feet.

As has been mentioned, you can use an RS-232/RS-485 converter to run a half-duplex serial link up to about 4000 feet. The 1761-CBL-PM02 cable or the shorter version, the 1761-CBL-AP00 will connect the Channel 1 connector on the MicroLogix 1500 to a 1761-NET-AIC, and the MicroLogix 1400 can use either a 1761-NET-AIC or a 1763-NC01 cable.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
micrologix 1400 configuration with rslogix 500 sruthi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 7th, 2014 06:50 PM
Micrologix 1200 to Micrologix 1500 MSG seaston_65 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 13th, 2010 04:46 PM
Updating RTC in Micrologix 1500 with MSG instruction APEACE LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 15th, 2008 01:59 PM
Downloading to a MicroLogix 1500 SSO LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 1st, 2008 04:51 PM
Micrologix 1500 to PLC5 msg command jrs2563 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 9th, 2006 08:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


.