You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 9th, 2018, 06:24 PM   #1
Mteller
Member
United States

Mteller is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
Best way to send data to pc from plc

I'm fairly new to the PLC world. We are adding a pc to a line at my work the pc is to track good/bad parts and up/down time of the machine maybe late keep track of alarms. The pc will only be receiving data not sending any data to the PLC . Do I have to add the pc to the hardware configuration? Or is there another way to send the data to the pc from the PLC? The PLC is a s300 programmed is step7 5.6. And will be hooked up to the PLC with Ethernet.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2018, 06:39 PM   #2
JosephMont
Member
United States

JosephMont is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Yakima
Posts: 56
I have done this with I THINK a MSG. I am not positive. I found it in the Siemens website as they had an example. I set up the example program and listening in with hyperterminal on the PC.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2018, 07:08 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,293
Quote:
the pc is to track good/bad parts and up/down time of the machine maybe late keep track of alarms.
What you are describing are some of the core features of an ordinary PC-based HMI program.

Before you start going into the details of how the PC and the PLC controller communicate over the network, write a document that describes exactly what kind of performance indicators and status information you want to display, and what kinds of records you want to keep, and in what format.

WinCC is the default HMI for Siemens controllers, and there are hundreds of others that vary in scope, power, and cost.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2018, 09:03 PM   #4
Mteller
Member
United States

Mteller is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
Now that you say that yes seems like an HMI. Put its a PC that will be networked to our corporate office so they can track the machine efficiency from a remote location.

Last edited by Mteller; October 9th, 2018 at 09:35 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2018, 04:37 AM   #5
AustralIan
Member
United Kingdom

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 790
There exists HMI software which performs the same task as a panel mount touchscreen HMI but is installed on a windows PC.

For what you are looking to do, you could use a SCADA package. This is just like HMI software, but designed with a more "your manager is going to want to look at this from his desk" mindset.

AdvancedHMI is a free example of the HMI software that runs on a PC (Their website can be misleading in thinking that this is a hardware company. In fact the hardware is quite recent, AdvancedHMI has been a great open source HMI tool for over 10 years)

Ignition is a SCADA package worth looking at. B-Scada has a free teir but I have no experience of this.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2018, 06:07 AM   #6
Ecava_TJ
Member
Malaysia

Ecava_TJ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: PJ
Posts: 9
Have a look at the ********** SCADA. Simply install it on your PC, hook the PLCs up, set the alarms, and you're good to go. It comes with a web-based HMI you can access from any device with a web browser, including smartphones and tablets, so you do not need any additional hardware.


Also, it's completely free to try out.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2018, 06:11 AM   #7
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,117
IGSS communicates with Siemens and let's you use 50 objects for free. Objects are not tags, so you can get quite a lot done with it.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2018, 07:54 AM   #8
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,682
+1 for AdvancedHMI
https://sourceforge.net/projects/advancedhmi/
To communicate to the S7 300 you would use Modbus TCP.
https://support.industry.siemens.com...dti=0&lc=en-WW

Hope this helps you out.
Regards,
__________________
Garry
https://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2018, 08:17 AM   #9
Jeebs
Member
Belgium

Jeebs is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leuven
Posts: 1,041
If it's just pulling data and storing/showing it, you can roll your own solution. Using Snap7 you can connect to the PLC and grab whatever data you want. Snap7 is just a comms wrapper, it's not a program. Dump the data in a SQL database and make nice visuals.

Or you could get one of them precooked MES-solutions.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC data to PC bmillerx94 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 July 14th, 2017 11:43 AM
Read and write data from pc to plc via rs232 cable MANISH VORA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 August 23rd, 2011 02:47 PM
PLC micro-p better than PC micro-p ? bambinorama LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 May 29th, 2008 12:01 AM
SLC 5/04 communication over DH+ plcnovel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 41 March 7th, 2006 07:12 AM
S7: How to send Data Block to PC Lilapauser LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 June 8th, 2005 04:34 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


.