You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 25th, 2015, 02:35 PM   #1
John Morris
Member
United States

John Morris is offline
 
John Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 574
FTV tag data, finding a tag

Hello all

Need some Help

Working with FTV 8.0, I have a stage view that represent 10 of 11 tanks. when I open the "Numeric Cursor Point Properties" sub panel "Connections", for value the tag Id is {#3.0}. I need to find this and point it to another location.

the reason I am confused a little is this global panel when open for tank two, can change the temp in CPU two. when open in tank 5 can change the temp in CPU 3

I moved tank four to skid one and now it will report to CPU2 But still writes the temp to CPU three..

Any suggestions
__________________
"When nothing is going right, go left."

"Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if it kept its mouth shut."
(I should probably look into this)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 06:36 AM   #2
John Morris
Member
United States

John Morris is offline
 
John Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 574
Need help Please
__________________
"When nothing is going right, go left."

"Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if it kept its mouth shut."
(I should probably look into this)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 08:24 AM   #3
JohanM
Member
Slovakia

JohanM is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Terchová
Posts: 48
Hmm. Can you attach some screen here?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 08:31 AM   #4
John Morris
Member
United States

John Morris is offline
 
John Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 574
numeric cursor point properties.jpg
__________________
"When nothing is going right, go left."

"Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if it kept its mouth shut."
(I should probably look into this)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 08:51 AM   #5
John Morris
Member
United States

John Morris is offline
 
John Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 574
tank shot.JPG

this is a global page. the top right is temp set point below that is hysteresis, below that run time in minutes and seconds.

Hysteresis = {#3:1}

Time, minutes={#2.2}
time seconds={#2.3}
__________________
"When nothing is going right, go left."

"Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if it kept its mouth shut."
(I should probably look into this)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 09:03 AM   #6
John Morris
Member
United States

John Morris is offline
 
John Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 574
tag statistics.JPG 2.JPG

When I go to the location It comes up as an SQL file.

I do not know how to open that.
__________________
"When nothing is going right, go left."

"Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if it kept its mouth shut."
(I should probably look into this)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 09:08 AM   #7
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,208
This screen uses 'parameter lists' or 'parameter files'. Look them up in the help section.

The modification will be done in the associated list or file.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 09:30 AM   #8
John Morris
Member
United States

John Morris is offline
 
John Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 574
Bernie

Ok I read it, tells me how to create one, but not how to find one.

I went to the start screen editor and parameter files were checked. but no location was give. that was blank.

still lost but now i know about parameter lists and files,

thank you
__________________
"When nothing is going right, go left."

"Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if it kept its mouth shut."
(I should probably look into this)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 09:50 AM   #9
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,208
Look at the button or control which calls this screen. The reference may be there. As a not I don't use parameter files, I just know of them. Sorry I can't help much further.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 10:08 AM   #10
John Morris
Member
United States

John Morris is offline
 
John Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 574
Good Lord, I feel like such an idiot.

I do this all the time in IDEC

Based on your recommendation Bernie. I took apart the "cluster". A "multi-state indicator", a "numeric display", and a clearly invisible "go to display button", .....with..... wait for it........ a G>D> parameter list. There's all that CPU 3 Sh.... stuff I've been looking for.....DUHHHH

{STAGE 4},{::[CPU3]N10},{::[CPU3]F30}

Now that that turd is completely polished, How does this {#3:0} relate to {STAGE 4},{::[CPU3]N10},{::[CPU3]F30}

Were are they connected.
__________________
"When nothing is going right, go left."

"Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if it kept its mouth shut."
(I should probably look into this)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 10:57 AM   #11
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,208
I believe the '#3' in {#3:0} points to the 3rd parameter in your list.

So the #3 is '{::[CPU3F30} and it tacks on ':0' to that to make the final tag

{::[CPU3]F30:0}
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 11:20 AM   #12
John Morris
Member
United States

John Morris is offline
 
John Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 574
ok

let me prove that out
__________________
"When nothing is going right, go left."

"Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if it kept its mouth shut."
(I should probably look into this)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 11:23 AM   #13
John Morris
Member
United States

John Morris is offline
 
John Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 574
ha haaaaa

your are VERY correct SIR.

The second {::[CPU3]N10} for the time in minutes and seconds is 2.2 and 2.3

I can not begin to tell you how relieve I am.

I started this thread on Friday, and it has stuck with me the whole weekend. ( kinda sucked )

Bernie.

I owe you a lunch Kind Sir.

Many Many thank you's
__________________
"When nothing is going right, go left."

"Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if it kept its mouth shut."
(I should probably look into this)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 11:44 AM   #14
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,208
I'm glad that I could help.

Lunch sounds great but the last time I was in San Antonio it was during basic training in the Air Force (1973).
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2015, 12:36 PM   #15
JohanM
Member
Slovakia

JohanM is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Terchová
Posts: 48
I am looking on that like freshly born cow ...Aaaaand of course..That is a parameter.. Thank you guys.. You also help me to refresh my memories..
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reading data block from plc to a tag in wincc karofilakis LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 30th, 2014 10:29 AM
PanelView Component Tag Data Types DaveZR2 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 7th, 2013 01:18 PM
Ab Tag Data Monitoring learner LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 9th, 2008 06:27 AM
Data to STRING tag at startup JERA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 31st, 2007 09:21 AM
MPI comunication Manuel Raposo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 July 16th, 2007 06:24 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


.