Creating 2 PLCs on Studio 5000 Emulate

bishoposiris

I want to create 2 PLCs on Studio 5000 Emulate v28 so that I can practice messaging between 2 PLCs using Studio 5000 Design v 30. The documentation I've read says there can be up to 16 controllers on the virtual chassis but I can't figure out how to do it. Right now I have the standard Studio 5000 Logix Emulate EmuLogix5868 Controller. Do I have to open a second instance of Emulate? What controller would I choose for that second instance? Or is there a way to use the same virtual chassis? I just started using Emulate this week so I'm a bit new to this software.

Ok I have done that. I have two Studio 5000 Design projects open, each pointing to one of the PLCs. How do I create a link between the two PLCs?

Just curious...Cary, Illinois or Cary, NC?

But in regards to your question, easiest is first have both PLC's in each other's I/O configuration. Then you can do produce/consume, or use message instructions and do CIP read/writes and just drag the other processor into the path box.

jkerekes,

When you have 2 physical PLCs you have to have a connection between them before you can send messages. Usually an Ethernet connection. Since both of my PLCs are on Emulate on the same virtual backplane I'm asking how to establish a link between them through the software like I would 2 physical PLCs.

robertmee,

NC

jkerekes,

When you have 2 physical PLCs you have to have a connection between them before you can send messages. Usually an Ethernet connection. Since both of my PLCs are on Emulate on the same virtual backplane I'm asking how to establish a link between them through the software like I would 2 physical PLCs.

robertmee,

NC

Cool...I grew up in Cary...In Raleigh now. Welcome.