You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 15th, 2019, 02:18 PM   #1
Mad_Poet
Member
United States

Mad_Poet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Virginia
Posts: 305
Ultra3000 Drives

Dear Sirs,
I have a machine with four Ultra 3000 drives in it. The Ultraware software
is installed on a computer as part of the machine. We have had three
drives go bad, and successfully replaced and re-loaded all three of them.

The boss 'acquired' three used Ultra 3000 drives. I tried installing two
of them to test them, and both came up with error E-0-4 . And the
Ultraware software did not find the 'new used' drive. (Yes, I unplugged
the other three drives to ensure I did not have two drives at the same
address - the drive to be tested was the only thing on the serial bus.)

The module status LED blinks red, and the manual says it is a overload
or maybe a 'wrong motor' error and that it is recoverable.

I assume the Ultraware could recover from the fault - if I could establish
communications . . . Possibly even factory reset it?

In the manual, It says if the drive is not detected to use 'Recover Communications'
to establish a connection.

If I use this 'Recover Communications' - is there any chance it will cause
the beast to no longer communicate with the other drives?

What should I really do here?
Poet.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2019, 03:57 PM   #2
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 3,348
I would load the Ultraware software on another computer and use that for testing until you're satisfied it can be connected to the machine's computer.

I may be preaching to the choir here but if this machine is going to be around a while you really want to make a plan to get away from the Ultras. The Ultra 5000 are as rare as hen's teeth (a customer of mine bought all of A-B's inventory) and the 3000 I'm sure is getting to be the same.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitsubishi SSCNET and MDS-A Drives NevisGroup LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 21st, 2017 03:03 PM
Network Powerflex drives pvilhauer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 5th, 2015 12:11 PM
ABB DC Drives TLearnC LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 23rd, 2011 03:55 PM
ABB Drives EDS Files rambler1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 November 9th, 2009 05:49 AM
ABB Drives and DeviceNet. Andybr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 January 11th, 2007 12:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.


.