You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 30th, 2019, 12:08 PM   #31
kalabdel
Member
Canada

kalabdel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
Maybe we could have a sub category on PLCTalk.net
About fifteen minutes after my post I emailed them three times in a row with questions without giving them a chance to reply and in the last email I made it clear I was done with the software. It's garbage.

I could not select or delete motors in a drawing I created yesterday ( I eventually found a way to get them alive). I could not select or delete the wiring of those motors. I could not get the short cut for Redo (Ctrl+Y) to work even after changing it. That pretty much did it for me. I have better things to spend my time and energy on.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2019, 08:23 PM   #32
kalabdel
Member
Canada

kalabdel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 385
So I spent about a week (tens of hours) exploring zuken and my verdict is that it belongs to "more of the same" group and after another frustrating email exchange with one of their marketing people they clearly have no manuals except a 130 page "quicktour) introduction and beyond that you're on your own. How these people survive or even sell one copy of their software is astonishing to me.




I have thus far used or tried to use ACADE, Eplan, PC Schematic and Zuken and the only one with real support and superb forums is ACADE but unfortunately it's the one I find most not intuitive.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2019, 08:49 PM   #33
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 306
After hearing about SkyCad here and giving it a try, I will have to say that it is a very nice alternative to some of the other free ones out there. I’ve been a ACADE guy for five years now, and SkyCad does most of the simple things a lot easier and quicker in my opinion.
Creating custom blocks and PLCs is WAY better than ACADE. Rather than giving the user free reign at what they want to draw, SkyCad instead asks you to insert a left or right input/output/analog/digital/generic and then a label and address and it does the rest. It adds the screw terminals and places attributes for you. Then you can save it with a part number to your library for future use.

The free version is limited in some of the more advanced features and yes it being a subscription kinda sucks. But the free version can do many things still for most users.
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 11:24 AM   #34
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by seth350 View Post
After hearing about SkyCad here and giving it a try, I will have to say that it is a very nice alternative to some of the other free ones out there. I’ve been a ACADE guy for five years now, and SkyCad does most of the simple things a lot easier and quicker in my opinion.
That's why I like it! I feel it is not "another" electrical CAD software. You can see it's at another level, and you can tell the design was thought-out with high goals in mind. The user interface is not cluttered and very intuitive.

Quote:
Creating custom blocks and PLCs is WAY better than ACADE. Rather than giving the user free reign at what they want to draw, SkyCad instead asks you to insert a left or right input/output/analog/digital/generic and then a label and address and it does the rest. It adds the screw terminals and places attributes for you. Then you can save it with a part number to your library for future use.
You can create your own "smart" symbols also.

By the way, if anybody is interested in being a SkyCAD beta tester, they are currently offering that opportunity:
https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update...28591061532672

Nice thing is they are very open to customer suggestions, and you can end up getting that neat CAD feature that you always wanted.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 11:53 AM   #35
A_G
Member
United States

A_G is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 173
I tried using SkyCAD a few weeks ago. The user interface seems pretty nice but after trying to watch some of the tutorial videos and following along, I think some of the tutorial videos are out of date.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 12:20 PM   #36
mylespetro
Supporting Member
Canada

mylespetro is offline
 
mylespetro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NS
Posts: 123
I tried SkyCAD last week, seems nice but it kept crashing when I tried to delete wires. Not sure if that's an uncommon occurance among users, but I found it frustrating and haven't used it since.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 02:00 PM   #37
dwoodlock
Member
United States

dwoodlock is offline
 
dwoodlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 443
I used tinycad, I actually found it on sourceforge some years ago. Its free

Able to build libraries of components. Definitely not groundbreaking in any way, but it does the trick.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 02:15 PM   #38
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalabdel View Post
So I spent about a week (tens of hours) exploring zuken and my verdict is that it belongs to "more of the same" group and after another frustrating email exchange with one of their marketing people they clearly have no manuals except a 130 page "quicktour) introduction and beyond that you're on your own. How these people survive or even sell one copy of their software is astonishing to me.




I have thus far used or tried to use ACADE, Eplan, PC Schematic and Zuken and the only one with real support and superb forums is ACADE but unfortunately it's the one I find most not intuitive.
I completely understand your frustration. I have yet to find an Ecad package I'd be willing to spend money on.

At this point, I'm approaching it differently. I have my own cad symbols and libraries, and I approach things on a sheet-to-sheet basis of standard drawings. Then I just pull sheets I need for each project.

Is it as automated as some of these other software programs? Nope. But I have the freedom to draw what I need and import most files from manufacturer websites.

(I use a copy of Bricscad, btw. Autocad clone that is perpetual and not to expensive)
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 02:50 PM   #39
SD_Scott
Member
United States

SD_Scott is offline
 
SD_Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 162
I used BricsCAD for a while. It was just ok. Maybe it is better now.

https://www.bricsys.com/en-us/
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 04:33 PM   #40
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by A_G View Post
I tried using SkyCAD a few weeks ago. The user interface seems pretty nice but after trying to watch some of the tutorial videos and following along, I think some of the tutorial videos are out of date.
Be aware that the developing stage of this software implies that some of the tutorials may need a refresh. I found most of the tutorials very well explained, and when I have a question their team replies very fast in their forum.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2019, 04:49 PM   #41
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by mylespetro View Post
I tried SkyCAD last week, seems nice but it kept crashing when I tried to delete wires. Not sure if that's an uncommon occurance among users, but I found it frustrating and haven't used it since.
From my own experience, crashing is not very common. Some new features may behave, but they are constantly taking care of any issues you may find.

My philosophy as a software user is this: "I prefer a software that I like and (every now and then) crashes, than a software that never crashes and I don't like"
As long as the development team cares, and this is the case for SkyCAD, the issues will be fixed soon. However, asking the dev team to improve an application that your don't like is more complicated, if not impossible.

A good example is Red Lion's Crimson. I love that software, and I consider it better than many (if not all) the other HMI software around. However, from time to time, it crashes. And I am not planning on stopping using Crimson because of that.

If you really liked SkyCAD, I suggest you post your issue in their forum. You'll be surprised how fast they take care of it.

Last edited by Elcan; February 7th, 2019 at 05:04 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2019, 06:48 AM   #42
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,152
Just loaded SkyCad, very nice.... I like the help section and I think this one gets a

I need to do a couple drawings next week so it will be nice to give it a try, they have one sample project so it was easy to get up and running.... well up and drawing
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2019, 03:47 PM   #43
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 2,682
I am using QElectrotech. It is FREE and very simple to use, the database is big and has autowiring etc.
get working in 5 minutes.
own blocks can be made and it has a vast language possibility.
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype shooter paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2019, 01:39 AM   #44
Jonnie_R
Member
Wales

Jonnie_R is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brecon
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by shooter View Post
I am using QElectrotech. It is FREE and very simple to use, the database is big and has autowiring etc.
get working in 5 minutes.
own blocks can be made and it has a vast language possibility.

+1 for QElectrotech, especially as I use a Linux based distribution for everyday computing.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2019, 09:11 AM   #45
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
I may need to try qelectrotech again. I remember it was pretty limited when I tried it previously, but that was a couple of years ago. Also, I remember having an issue trying to get it to English.

I tried Skycad for a little while. I like the interface well enough, and it includes NFPA symbols and ladder, which is a huge plus. It seems pretty intuitive for the most part. If I were starting out new, I might look at it.

I think I'm done with it for two reasons, however. One, I will never buy a subscription, and the free version doesn't include enough to separate it from basic CAD with a decent symbol library, IMO. Two, when I was offline and it couldn't connect to the internet, it threw a screen with a license issue and stated it would 'default to standard'. Since I do work in places without internet, that's a big no no, IMO. (just a warning for those who would subscribe!)

I guess I will probably never find software I'd be willing to pay for in this field. Maybe someday!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why pay for PLC programming software? Stephen Luft LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 283 October 24th, 2015 07:58 AM
RSI developing software BobB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 May 21st, 2010 02:52 PM
Viewing STEP5 in Ladder logic: Software edward4444 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 19th, 2006 05:57 AM
E3 schematic software okiebob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 12th, 2003 10:41 PM
plc drawing software Wolfi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 19th, 2003 04:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


.