You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 13th, 2019, 09:54 AM   #46
mylespetro
Supporting Member
Canada

mylespetro is offline
 
mylespetro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NS
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rson View Post
I may need to try qelectrotech again. I remember it was pretty limited when I tried it previously, but that was a couple of years ago. Also, I remember having an issue trying to get it to English.

I just installed it earlier and had no issue with having it in English. It did however crash like SkyCAD did for me as I mentioned in a previous post, so that would point to an issue with my computer, not the software.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2019, 06:51 AM   #47
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by mylespetro View Post
I just installed it earlier and had no issue with having it in English. It did however crash like SkyCAD did for me as I mentioned in a previous post, so that would point to an issue with my computer, not the software.
or dodgy designing.....I would as in a most hardware/software bite the bullet and use tried and tested stuff. 40% of the time the pricing is for s reason
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2019, 03:28 PM   #48
TheGreatAttractor
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

TheGreatAttractor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North Richland Hills
Posts: 5
Free Electrical, Mechanical,Board Schematic Software

If any of you purchase from Allied Electronics, they have a group they support for schools, learning and DIY. I believe all their software is free. They have Electrical, Mechanical and Printed Circuit-Board software and it can all work together. Since I have AutoCad I have not spent the time to try all of it. You can try it at https://www.rs-online.com/designspark/home
or find it on their website. Their DS Toolbox for your phone is a great resource for electronics.


Please let us know how it works if you try it.



One other note: Newark Electronics has a similar group and offer a HOME version of National Instruments LabView for about $50.00 for home projects and students if you are interested.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2019, 11:53 AM   #49
testsubject
Member
United States

testsubject is offline
 
testsubject's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, Il
Posts: 774
I have been using AutoCAD Electrical for 20 years. I really love it but it can be intimidating because it is so flexible.

I did try using Solidworks electrical and after six months I was ready to pull my hair out. It was not easy to use at all. For example, it did not do item numbering on the panel layout. The only way to get item numbers on the panel was to draw it up in Solidworks 3d and import it in. You also could not do any detail views of the panel without using Solidworks 3d.

Rson, I would like to speak to your not wanting to go subscription.

I wrestled with this as well. I found that when I was paying full price for AutoCAD and only updating every three years I was paying about the same by going subscription and getting all the updates and changes every year. This allowed me to take advantage of all the new things that came available. Just my two cents....

As a panel/schematic designer, if you are not using some kind of Electrical CAD you are hurting yourself. The ability to create BOMs, Wiring Reports, To/From Lists, Terminal Marker reports for printing, Wire Number Reports, etc are were these packages really shine.

If are interested in reading through a bunch of tips/tricks for ACE, Doug McAlexander's website is full of information. http:/ecadconsultant.com
__________________
If you never encounter anything in your community that offends you, then you are not living in a free society.

Kim Campbell
Former Canadian Prime Minister
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2019, 02:32 PM   #50
theColonel26
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southwest, Michigan
Posts: 136
I have used
  • Radica Electra V7
    • Intuitive for VERY simple schematics it get UN-intuitive VERY quickly once you go past a few pages.
    • It also completely crashes a couple times a day and throws and exception message about every 10 minutes. Yes I am being serious. I used it for almost a year.
    • Stay Away
  • SEE Electrical V8R2
    • The Sales guy claims it has all these great features but which is theory it does but they are no cumbersome to use that it is a joke.
    • It got to the point where we stoped using auto-wire number and terminal number because it caused so many problems and turned in to more work than just doing it manually. This was painful for me as I am not one to give up easily and I am disgusted by Luddites that don't like to learn or change, but even I finally realized it was more trouble than it was worth.
    • The software is basically legacy. They rarely add anything new. The UI is extremely cumbersome. You have to go through half a dozen layers of windows just to simple highly repetitive tasks like modifying the properties of a component.
    • We had the most expensive advanced version.
    • Stay Away
  • Proficad
    • I haven't used it very much, just toyed with it on a couple small projects it'd a descent little program from what I have seen but it mostly seems gear toward Wiring Diagrams instead of Schematics or at least most of the existing symbol libraries are.
I had not heard of SkyCad until I saw it in this thread. I have been watching all the tutorials on YouTube. Every video I watch I'm like "whaaaaaa it does that I have always want to beable to do that"


I am waiting for the advanced tutorials to be released. It has Mutli-Core Cable Single Line Style but I really wish it had the traditional multi-line cable symbol style as well.


The biggest draw back I see so far is you can't import DWGs which is handy for doing Panel Layouts. You can in SEE Electrical even if it is a nightmare getting them adjusted correctly once you do.


I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the Terminal Strip Features. SEE Electrical Terminal Strip features are a joke. SEE doesn't even understand terminal bridging.


I am a little afraid of it because it is so new. it seems it has only been released for less than 6 months unless I am mistaken.


Subscription model doesn't scare me at all I prefer it. It makes it a lot more Flexible.

Last edited by theColonel26; April 11th, 2019 at 02:35 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2019, 03:01 PM   #51
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 300
I think I'm the only one using Auto-cad mechanical 2012 for electrical schematics haha. My company cheap.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2019, 03:04 PM   #52
theColonel26
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southwest, Michigan
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by alive15 View Post
I think I'm the only one using Auto-cad mechanical 2012 for electrical schematics haha. My company cheap.
Correction your company likes to waste money under the guise of saving money.


Even will all my complaints about Electra and SEE Electrical they still save me a lot of time compared to doing all of it completly my hand in AutoCad Mechanical
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2019, 03:10 PM   #53
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by theColonel26 View Post
Correction your company likes to waste money under the guise of saving money.


Even will all my complaints about Electra and SEE Electrical they still save me a lot of time compared to doing all of it completly my hand in AutoCad Mechanical
Haha, we don't make too many of our own Elec schematics actually; whenever we do, we always start with templates, it's never from scratch. Our company is moving away from Autocad towards Draftsight since AC is becoming more expensive.

Draftsight is really similar to Autocad but free of charge. Draftsight does a better job managing the different autocad versions than autocad does itself. Sometimes I cant open a 2017 file without having to convert in AC, but draftsight can open everything and convert it automatically, which is one thing I do like about it.

I don't think Draftsight has any good symbols, so you have to import them all on your own.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2019, 03:16 PM   #54
theColonel26
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southwest, Michigan
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by alive15 View Post
Haha, we don't make too many of our own Elec schematics actually
Oh well then maybe then maybe it is justified.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2019, 03:23 PM   #55
Bob O
Member
United States

Bob O is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location:
Posts: 1,676
@alive15...FYI - Free Draftsight is going away end of 2019.




If you like I can attach a screen shot of the warning I got last week or so.
__________________
There Is A Frost Advisory...GBR!
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2019, 11:50 PM   #56
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by testsubject View Post
I have been using AutoCAD Electrical for 20 years. I really love it but it can be intimidating because it is so flexible.

I did try using Solidworks electrical and after six months I was ready to pull my hair out. It was not easy to use at all. For example, it did not do item numbering on the panel layout. The only way to get item numbers on the panel was to draw it up in Solidworks 3d and import it in. You also could not do any detail views of the panel without using Solidworks 3d.

Rson, I would like to speak to your not wanting to go subscription.

I wrestled with this as well. I found that when I was paying full price for AutoCAD and only updating every three years I was paying about the same by going subscription and getting all the updates and changes every year. This allowed me to take advantage of all the new things that came available. Just my two cents....

As a panel/schematic designer, if you are not using some kind of Electrical CAD you are hurting yourself. The ability to create BOMs, Wiring Reports, To/From Lists, Terminal Marker reports for printing, Wire Number Reports, etc are were these packages really shine.

If are interested in reading through a bunch of tips/tricks for ACE, Doug McAlexander's website is full of information. http:/ecadconsultant.com
Very well said.
I too have been using ACADE since VIA Development days.
It has grown well.
It did make me choke on the subscription price, but it VERY nice to have every upgrade there. From your subscription AutoDesk site..you can even download older versions.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2019, 06:31 AM   #57
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by theColonel26 View Post
I have used
I had not heard of SkyCad until I saw it in this thread. I have been watching all the tutorials on YouTube. Every video I watch I'm like "whaaaaaa it does that I have always want to beable to do that"
I'm a beta tester, and yes, I've been very impressed with the innovative features SkyCAD offers. And the best part of it, they listen to your needs. Just go to their forum and talk to them.

Quote:
The biggest draw back I see so far is you can't import DWGs which is handy for doing Panel Layouts.
I have good news for you: they are working on it! They recently added the DWG export.

Quote:
I am a little afraid of it because it is so new. it seems it has only been released for less than 6 months unless I am mistaken.
Your are right, SkyCAD is a new software. But it is also new regarding the neat features you get and the fresh approach to electrical CAD drawing. Also, I think that we, the first batch of users, have relatively more decision power regarding feature requests.

Last edited by Elcan; April 12th, 2019 at 06:35 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2019, 08:07 AM   #58
Slwagner73
Supporting Member
United States

Slwagner73 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bellevue, MI
Posts: 17
So, after reading this post, I am now going to ask, Does anyone know of a CAD program that runs in the iOS environment?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2019, 08:45 AM   #59
LadderLogic
Member
United States

LadderLogic is offline
 
LadderLogic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicagolandia
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slwagner73 View Post
So, after reading this post, I am now going to ask, Does anyone know of a CAD program that runs in the iOS environment?
I don't think anyone has ever bothered to create one, for obvious practical reasons.
__________________
Don't trust, don't fear, don't beg...
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2019, 09:26 AM   #60
Slwagner73
Supporting Member
United States

Slwagner73 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Bellevue, MI
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by LadderLogic View Post
I don't think anyone has ever bothered to create one, for obvious practical reasons.
So, for those of us that don't understand, what are the practical reasons?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why pay for PLC programming software? Stephen Luft LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 283 October 24th, 2015 07:58 AM
RSI developing software BobB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 May 21st, 2010 02:52 PM
Viewing STEP5 in Ladder logic: Software edward4444 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 19th, 2006 05:57 AM
E3 schematic software okiebob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 12th, 2003 10:41 PM
plc drawing software Wolfi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 19th, 2003 04:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


.