Correctly utilizing encoder with PLC

zblum

Hey guys, I need some help, as I am VERY confused.
I am merely trying to track bottles on a conveyor line using a Bit Shift function, with a photoeye setting the value of the passed bit, and an encoder pulse triggering the actual shifting of the data. I am relatively new to PLCs and haven't really used encoders before.
My initial thought was that if the encoder pulsed multiple times during the course of 1 logic scan, I would not be able to track every pulse. So I selected hardware such that encoder pulse time>logic scan time. I bought a 60 ppr encoder, which gives me ~0.25" resolution in regard to the conveyor line. With the speed our conveyor runs at, I should get a pulse every .0172 seconds. I changed the response time in my MicroLogix 1200 to 25 microseconds to better catch pulses. I believe my logic scan times now sit around 0.0005 seconds.
But I have a problem: my pulse counts are too low at high speeds. Let's say that at low speeds I measure 2 feet to be equal to 96 encoder pulses; if I then count pulses at full operating speed, I may only count 75 encoder pulses for that same 2 feet.
I am assuming I am missing encoder pulses out the wazoo. Is my entire approach to this problem wrong?
I have attached a trend from the PLC showing the distribution of encoder pulses AT A CONSTANT SPEED, as well as my simple logic to "catch" pulses.
Thanks

ENCODER LOGIC.PNG ENCODER PULSE TREND 2.jpg ENCODER PULSE TREND A&B.jpg

Last edited:
You need some more info. Get this manual 1762-rm001_-en-p.

It will show you how to use the high speed counter in the Micrologix 1200.

Can you use the HSC to just send a "pulse"?
I don't need to know the actual encoder count, just a consistent pulse to pass data to a BSL.

If you need a just pulses for your bit shift, you can use your fast inputs, but device that generates pulses must be equally fast or even faster.

So you are saying that instead of