You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread October 4th, 2019, 02:21 PM   #1
Timeismoney08
Member
United States

Timeismoney08 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 277
RTD for CompactLogix

I've never done an RTD before.

What kind of input would I need to read this RTD sensor coming back?


Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 4th, 2019, 03:17 PM   #2
Snyd1
Member
United States

Snyd1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: there
Posts: 81
An RTD input card like 1734-IR2(E) or there is a specialty analog card that accepts everything basically 1734SC-IF4U. If you PLC uses the 1734 modules, or 1769-IR6 if it uses 1769 Modules or there are 5069 modules as well, 5069-IY4 is a universal
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 4th, 2019, 03:57 PM   #3
Timeismoney08
Member
United States

Timeismoney08 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 277
Thank you. Can I use the 1769-IF16C? We already have one here.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 4th, 2019, 03:59 PM   #4
Timeismoney08
Member
United States

Timeismoney08 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 277
The 1769-IR6 is a high speed counter card... That works for RTD's?
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 4th, 2019, 04:03 PM   #5
Snyd1
Member
United States

Snyd1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: there
Posts: 81
If you have a standard 2/3 or 4 Wire RTD then no you would needs a signal conditioner of some type. Now if you are talking an RTD connected to a transmitter that has current output then yeah.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 4th, 2019, 04:04 PM   #6
Snyd1
Member
United States

Snyd1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: there
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timeismoney08 View Post
The 1769-IR6 is a high speed counter card... That works for RTD's?

Hmm ProposalWorks is showing it as "6 Channel RTD/Resistance Input Module" for me

https://literature.rockwellautomatio...m005_-en-p.pdf
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 5th, 2019, 11:33 AM   #7
DwSoFt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

DwSoFt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 909
The 1769-if8sc. Is a universal card from spectrum controls. I have used them lots with rtd thermocouple and current
__________________
Dan Wiebe
-----------------
Automation Manager
Phoenix Energy Services
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 12th, 2019, 10:44 AM   #8
jdbrandt
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jdbrandt is offline
 
jdbrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timeismoney08 View Post
I've never done an RTD before.

What kind of input would I need to read this RTD sensor coming back?


Thank you
If you have a number of these, it would make sense to use a dedicated RTD input module, as other replies have suggested.
If, on the other hand, this is the ONLY and singular use of an RTD in your system, and, if you already have other analog inputs, it might make sense to use a spare analog input (0-10VDC, 4-20mADC), and simply attach the RTD to a signal conditioner for this purpose. (Action PAK, et al)
Be aware, however, that the RTD module supplies you with calibration capabilities, as well as diagnostic capabilities that may not be equally functional when using a signal conditioner.
Note, as well, that there are different types of RTDs. The most common one is typically called out as "100ohmPt" {100 ohm (nominal), platinum}. You will also need to consider whether you are using a 3-wire or a 4-wire RTD. Here again, the 3-wire is the most common, but there are still 4-wire devices out there.
__________________
Jeffrey D.Brandt

Last edited by jdbrandt; October 12th, 2019 at 10:46 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LOGO! RTD Intermittent jschapansky LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 25th, 2019 08:16 AM
100 Ohm Platnum RTD at sub zero Adriel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 26th, 2019 08:49 AM
3 thermostat temperature(average of 3) need to control one motorised valve actuator pkpk89 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 February 22nd, 2017 08:54 AM
Restriction of RTD wire lenght Forrest LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 14th, 2010 04:00 PM
Using the "bias" parameter on a AB 1771-IR RTD card zonk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 22nd, 2005 05:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


.