LogixPro Silo Simulator

eris667

I am a student at Lafayette Technical College (Louisiana) when I am not working (7/7 offshore) One of my current classes is using the LogixPro Training program as an intro to PLCs. I have attached a link for my solution to the third silo exercise. This solution is functioning but not correct, at a mid-range scan speed it works great - but at a high or low scan speed it does not function reliably. (due to the timer)
I am sure there is a flawless solution to this.. .. ..

Looking for a nudge in the right direction
(renamed file from .rsl to .txt so I could upload)

Thanks,

Mike P.

Keep on working!

Mike, you are on the right track to getting this sim to work. Why you are experiencing problems with the LogixPro at various scan speeds, I am unsure. However, your program includes a timer for some reason. Revisit the choice of using a timer in this sim. It can be done without timers of any type. This is a logical sequence of events problem. I use LogixPro in my PLC classes that I teach and find it to be a great teaching tool. It is limited to some degree and this may indeed be why you are having troubles. Dump the timer!

Attempt #3 (c) seems to be on the right track.. .. ..
I was not holding the prox sensor out long enough to clear the box.
This is a much cleaner solution, and it functions at ALL scan speeds.

Further critique would be welcome -.-
(relocated NC I:1/6 from rung 002 after picture was posted.. .. ..for better one run and stop operation)

Thanks,

Mike P.

ladderrungs.jpg

Last edited:
eris667,

Okay, you asked for this. Take it as constructive.

1. Consider re-arranging your Outputs in numerical order: O:2/0, O:2/1, etc. This makes it easier to find things and to troubleshoot a much longer program.