You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 16th, 2017, 09:48 AM   #1
jakeparsons03
Member
United States

jakeparsons03 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6
Importing AOPs on RSLogix 5000 version 20.01

I have been trying to import the AOP for a 1769-AENTR. I downloaded it off the RA website and it gave me a .exe file. After running the .exe I closed logix and reopened it but the AENTR isn't on the list as modules I can create. Am I missing some sort of import method? The .exe created a .dat file. I haven't seen that before, is that the file I am supposed to import?

Last edited by jakeparsons03; June 16th, 2017 at 09:52 AM. Reason: New information
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 10:01 AM   #2
Paully's5.0
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Paully's5.0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 1,919
Where in the hardware tree are you trying to add it? The tree hierarchy will filter out some modules giving an impression it is not available if you didn't right-click on the right spot.
__________________
"Comments should be like a mini-skirt... long enough to cover the essentials but short enough to keep your interest." - Uptown47
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 10:28 AM   #3
jakeparsons03
Member
United States

jakeparsons03 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6
I am looking under the ethernet section. I can see other AENTRs just not the 1769 one
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 10:45 AM   #4
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,255
Did you download AOP for 1769-AENTR V9.06.00 ; some 380 MB or so?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 11:12 AM   #5
jakeparsons03
Member
United States

jakeparsons03 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6
Yeah that's the one
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 11:17 AM   #6
kekrahulik
Member
United States

kekrahulik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lancaster,pa
Posts: 217
What processor are you using and what version is your program? I wouldn't think that module would be an issue, but there are modules that will not work under older versions. When that is the case, I believe the module will not show up as an option.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 11:18 AM   #7
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,255
And, after extracting the archive, you opened up the RACompactAdapter_V9.06_Rel folder, right-clicked MPSetup (no extension!) and chose 'Run as administrator'?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 11:25 AM   #8
kekrahulik
Member
United States

kekrahulik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lancaster,pa
Posts: 217
According to Geospark (http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=102871)

RSLogix 5000 v20 is the minimum version required to use the 1769-AENTR.

It will not appear in the available hardware list if you are running a prior version
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 11:29 AM   #9
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by kekrahulik View Post
According to Geospark (http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=102871)

RSLogix 5000 v20 is the minimum version required to use the 1769-AENTR.

It will not appear in the available hardware list if you are running a prior version
I believe he stated running RSL5K v20.01 in Post #1 title.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 11:31 AM   #10
kekrahulik
Member
United States

kekrahulik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lancaster,pa
Posts: 217
Missed that
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 11:40 AM   #11
jakeparsons03
Member
United States

jakeparsons03 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmargineau View Post
And, after extracting the archive, you opened up the RACompactAdapter_V9.06_Rel folder, right-clicked MPSetup (no extension!) and chose 'Run as administrator'?
I didn't. I saw that but I thought it was apart of a previous set of AOPs I failed to download. I ran it and it worked! You are the man/woman! Thank you!!
  Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2017, 11:52 AM   #12
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakeparsons03 View Post
I didn't. I saw that but I thought it was apart of a previous set of AOPs I failed to download. I ran it and it worked! You are the man/woman! Thank you!!
It happens when using RA products...They should try standardizing their install packages, especially the web downloads...
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2017, 05:58 PM   #13
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmargineau View Post
It happens when using RA products...They should try standardizing their install packages, especially the web downloads...
Yes, but that would require getting a bunch of engineers to all agree on which way to standardize...
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues importing tags to RSLogix 5000 PLC_n00b_1018 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 3rd, 2017 03:18 PM
RSLogix 5000 Emulator Trial Version chandrapaul LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 10th, 2016 01:33 PM
RSLogix 5000 version compatability shoelesscraig LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 February 10th, 2010 11:44 AM
RSLogix 5000 Version SCAN.PLC LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 September 12th, 2007 04:38 PM
RSLogix 5000 Version 15 Gotcho LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 7th, 2005 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


.