You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 14th, 2017, 11:23 AM   #1
Andybr
Member
United Kingdom

Andybr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Cognex Insight 5400 with Control Logix.

We have just replaced an old Insight 5400 Camera and the firmware revision has changed from 3.2 to 12.1. The new camera has been set up and the job file installed but it will not connect to the PLC. I suspect that the problem is that the old camera was added to the PLC project as a generic ethernet device but the new version needs to be added using the Cognex AOP.
The data is written from the camera to the PLC using a WriteEIP command and triggered by a message instruction in the PLC. The input and output assemblies for the generic ethernet device were set at 33 DINTs however we are only reading 25 DINTs of data.
Does anybody know whether I can get the new camera to work if I replace the generic ethernet device with the AOP and set the data size to 32 DINTs. I logged this with Cognex tech support last week but have not yet had any reply and we are desperate to get this working. I cannot just try it and see as the system is in production adn I do not want to lose the data from another three cameras which are on the same system.
__________________
“What are the facts? Again and again and again-what are the facts? Shun wishful thinking, ignore divine revelation, forget what “the stars foretell,” avoid opinion, care not what the neighbors think, never mind the unguessable “verdict of history”–what are the facts, and to how many decimal places? You pilot always into an unknown future; facts are your single clue. Get the facts!”

Robert Heinlein.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 11:47 AM   #2
Mispeld
Member
United States

Mispeld is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: VA
Posts: 192
What is the model number of the new camera?

If using the AOP you will probably not be able to choose 33 DINTS because the data transfer size is selected from a drop down list. For example, the 5000 series rev 10 choices are: 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 122. Similar for others, though I do not have rev 12 on any profiles at this time.

I'm not sure where the message instruction comes into play, though. If using EIP, the data transfer is automatic.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 11:58 AM   #3
Andybr
Member
United Kingdom

Andybr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
I will set the data transfer size at 32 bytes as I said above. I am only using the first 25 DINTs so this should not make any difference. The message is to trigger the camera. As you say the data transfer is automatic.
__________________
“What are the facts? Again and again and again-what are the facts? Shun wishful thinking, ignore divine revelation, forget what “the stars foretell,” avoid opinion, care not what the neighbors think, never mind the unguessable “verdict of history”–what are the facts, and to how many decimal places? You pilot always into an unknown future; facts are your single clue. Get the facts!”

Robert Heinlein.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 12:21 PM   #4
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 863
Adding the AOP camera will create new tags for the name you give it. That could also cause an issue in your program. It might be wise to test an offline change before making production changes.

dumb question. Did you assign the new camera the same IP as the generic module?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 12:21 PM   #5
Mispeld
Member
United States

Mispeld is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: VA
Posts: 192
Actually, in looking at the data type created by the AOP, the status bits occupy a DINT, in addition to the user data specified in the drop-down. So 32 input DINTS will likely behave exactly as the 33 generic DINTS.

On the (PLC) output side, you may be able to simplify the program using bi-directional EIP data. In this case you can eliminate the message and use PLC output bits .Control.TriggerEnable and .Control.Trigger for image acquisition. The Trigger bit would be pulsed for a duration greater than the EIP requested packet interval (RPI), while the TriggerEnable is kept high. On the other hand, if the message works, maybe no good reason to change.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2017, 05:02 AM   #6
Andybr
Member
United Kingdom

Andybr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mispeld View Post
Actually, in looking at the data type created by the AOP, the status bits occupy a DINT, in addition to the user data specified in the drop-down. So 32 input DINTS will likely behave exactly as the 33 generic DINTS.

On the (PLC) output side, you may be able to simplify the program using bi-directional EIP data. In this case you can eliminate the message and use PLC output bits .Control.TriggerEnable and .Control.Trigger for image acquisition. The Trigger bit would be pulsed for a duration greater than the EIP requested packet interval (RPI), while the TriggerEnable is kept high. On the other hand, if the message works, maybe no good reason to change.
Our PLC code indexes through 4 cameras one at a time so i would prefer to keep as much of the original code as possible for the new camera.Provided the "SE" command in the message will still trigger the camera I will just map the returned data to the original array and the code should work correctly. My concern is which elements in the new array the data will end up in.
__________________
“What are the facts? Again and again and again-what are the facts? Shun wishful thinking, ignore divine revelation, forget what “the stars foretell,” avoid opinion, care not what the neighbors think, never mind the unguessable “verdict of history”–what are the facts, and to how many decimal places? You pilot always into an unknown future; facts are your single clue. Get the facts!”

Robert Heinlein.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2017, 08:21 AM   #7
Mispeld
Member
United States

Mispeld is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: VA
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andybr View Post
Provided the "SE" command in the message will still trigger the camera I will just map the returned data to the original array and the code should work correctly. My concern is which elements in the new array the data will end up in.
Based on my experience with older revs, when you add the camera to the I/O tree via the AOP, new tags will be created with data types (e.g., rev 11, bi-directional, 32 DINTS):

CC:InSight11_DINT32:I:0
CC:InSight11_DINT32:O:0

If your camera name is CAM_A, for example, the tags will be named:

CAM_A:I
CAM_A:O

The CAM_A:I will have a "Status" item (bits) and "InspectionResults" array of 32 DINTS. The WriteEIP instruction will start filling InspectionResults at element zero. For example,

CAM_A:I.InspectionResults[0]

It would be interesting to hear if it is OK to mix implicit and explicit messaging to Cognex cameras.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2017, 08:42 AM   #8
Andybr
Member
United Kingdom

Andybr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Mispeld
We have been running systems using this arrangement at many sites worldwide for years and never had any problems. Unfortunately it is the reliability of these systems which has led to the problem we now have trying to replace an old camera with a much newer one.
__________________
“What are the facts? Again and again and again-what are the facts? Shun wishful thinking, ignore divine revelation, forget what “the stars foretell,” avoid opinion, care not what the neighbors think, never mind the unguessable “verdict of history”–what are the facts, and to how many decimal places? You pilot always into an unknown future; facts are your single clue. Get the facts!”

Robert Heinlein.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2017, 09:26 AM   #9
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,184
Are you sure the Camera is running a version 12 firmware?

The 5400 series shouldn't be able to go past 4.10.4 right now iirc...
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2017, 09:41 AM   #10
Andybr
Member
United Kingdom

Andybr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
The module properties in Logix5000 show the revision as 12.1. Version 12 is available as an option in the latest AOP.
__________________
“What are the facts? Again and again and again-what are the facts? Shun wishful thinking, ignore divine revelation, forget what “the stars foretell,” avoid opinion, care not what the neighbors think, never mind the unguessable “verdict of history”–what are the facts, and to how many decimal places? You pilot always into an unknown future; facts are your single clue. Get the facts!”

Robert Heinlein.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2017, 09:47 AM   #11
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,184
Right, that's the version of the AOP.. Not the Camera itself however. You'll need to check using the explorer to verify the firmware of the camera.

If you haven't seen this already, it helps figure out the differences between the generic module setup and the AOP setup.
http://www.cognex.com/support/downlo...Logix%20v1.pdf
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2017, 09:50 AM   #12
Andybr
Member
United Kingdom

Andybr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Dravik.
The revision number is from the module properties for the generic ethernet module. The AOP is not used in our current programme. This is the revision which is being returned when I go online to the PLC and open the generic module.
__________________
“What are the facts? Again and again and again-what are the facts? Shun wishful thinking, ignore divine revelation, forget what “the stars foretell,” avoid opinion, care not what the neighbors think, never mind the unguessable “verdict of history”–what are the facts, and to how many decimal places? You pilot always into an unknown future; facts are your single clue. Get the facts!”

Robert Heinlein.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2017, 01:42 PM   #13
mario01
Member
United States

mario01 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: ohio
Posts: 3
interesting thread, I also have the same question
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Logix no more RIO? cncsparky LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 August 21st, 2015 09:19 AM
Control Logix Gateway setup jguidotti LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 16th, 2011 02:14 AM
Communication between AB Control Logix and Koyo PLC Forrest LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 July 19th, 2010 07:53 PM
Need Control Logix Help Maverick 250 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 May 9th, 2005 11:41 PM
Panel View & Control Logix gizmo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 21st, 2002 09:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


.