You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 13th, 2017, 09:27 PM   #1
zacslade
Member
United States

zacslade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 49
PLC Tutor Feedback

Hi all,

A coworker of mine produced this website for teaching ladder basics. We're looking for feedback and bug reports.

http://www.plcfiddle.com/#
(if that link doesn't work, try this one: plcfiddle.com/#alpha )

Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2017, 10:29 PM   #2
Mispeld
Member
United States

Mispeld is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: VA
Posts: 192
After some fiddling, it became apparent how to turn things on and off, and to create variables (data elements). But could not figure out how to create or edit the ladder rungs. There was nowhere that I could find to drag and drop any of the instructions from the top.

Interesting concept.

Nevermind...found Add Rung under the "Other" tab, and then realized that when dragging an instruction down, there is a place where the rung highlights with blue dots. It would be helpful if that "hot spot" was aligned with the rung connectors on the instruction.

Last edited by Mispeld; November 13th, 2017 at 10:39 PM. Reason: Found answers
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2017, 10:35 PM   #3
zacslade
Member
United States

zacslade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 49
Good feedback! Thanks and noted.

It's a little tricky, but you have to drag elements so that your mouse pointer is directly over the line on the rung. Also, the "Add Rung" button is in the "Other" tab for ladder elements.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 06:11 AM   #4
PLC Pie Guy
Member
Canada

PLC Pie Guy is offline
 
PLC Pie Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Halifax
Posts: 577
OK!! That's cool.
The first time Iv ever seen a trainer of any kind that is so simply accessed and for free. I had to download nothing!

I have only added a timer and a rung but so far its pretty good.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 07:27 AM   #5
Gene Bond
Member
United States

Gene Bond is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 183
Pretty cool, I just couldn't figure out how to add a parallel contact...
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 08:02 AM   #6
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 4,997
Very nice, once you finish it let me know and I will drive some traffic your way
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 08:02 AM   #7
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,128
Simple and easy to use.
Great idea. No software to download.

Let me know if you want some traffic driven toward it.
__________________
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 09:12 AM   #8
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,011
Very clever, nice job.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 02:11 PM   #9
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 2,589
I like it.
please add some help
is it possible to save it? so i can prepare a few things for class as a teacher
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype shooter paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 02:23 PM   #10
zacslade
Member
United States

zacslade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 49
Thanks a lot for the feedback, all! By the way, my coworker just told me that the "/#alpha" flag at the end of the URL is what enables the tutorial (which is very much in alpha). If you just go straight to plcfiddle.com, then it will only give you the ladder editor.

Gene Bond:
Good feedback, so the way to add a parallel contact (right now) is to first add the empty branch from the "other" tab, then drag your contacts onto the top and bottom of it.

geniusintraining, gclshortt:
The more the merrier Feel free to send anyone who's interested.

shooter:
The next update will include the ability to log-in in order to save your progress, but right now if you press the "save" button on the "other" tab, then it will change your URL to something that will have your current progress saved. So you can try copying that new URL and using it later.
Also, good idea about adding some help text

Last edited by zacslade; November 14th, 2017 at 02:34 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 03:20 PM   #11
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacslade View Post
Hi all,

A coworker of mine produced this website for teaching ladder basics. We're looking for feedback and bug reports.

http://www.plcfiddle.com/#
(if that link doesn't work, try this one: plcfiddle.com/#alpha )

Thanks in advance.
I just wanted to catch the runtime of the motor and reset the timer, does this have a run mode?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 03:59 PM   #12
zacslade
Member
United States

zacslade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by VAN View Post
I just wanted to catch the runtime of the motor and reset the timer, does this have a run mode?
It should always be in a sort of run mode. On the left side where it shows a list of variables, you can click on the "ON/OFF" status of a boolean variable to toggle it. You'll have to make sure you add a variable for your timer, and then set the timer on your rung to use that variable.

When you've added a timer, you can click the dropdown next to it in the variable list to see all of its elements. So, for example, if you want to know the runtime of your motor, you might add a retentive timer with a high PRE, and then watch the ACC.

Here's a link to the rung I made:
http://www.plcfiddle.com/#f373ffb6-c...f-d7add16dcc13
(let me know if that works). In this example, you would click the "OFF" status next to the "Input" variable in the list on the left side to start the process.

Also, I recommend you check out the "alpha" tutorial: plcfiddle.com/#alpha
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 05:42 PM   #13
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 4,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacslade View Post
(let me know if that works). In this example, you would click the "OFF" status next to the "Input" variable in the list on the left side to start the process.
No the timer does nothing and should not be there

Quote:
Originally Posted by zacslade View Post

Also, I recommend you check out the "alpha" tutorial: plcfiddle.com/#alpha
You can not get past the first one or is there only one?

Can you make the drop area a little bigger that may help when adding things to the rungs
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 06:08 PM   #14
zacslade
Member
United States

zacslade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
No the timer does nothing and should not be there
Right, the timer does not affect the true/false evaluation of the rung. I put the retentive timer in there just to record the amount of time the motor has been on, based on my interpretation of VAN's comment: "I wanted to catch the runtime of the motor". It should have had a pretty high PRE, so that, as I said, you could watch the ACC to determine the runtime of the motor. How would you have done it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
You can not get past the first one or is there only one?
There's more than one. To get past the first one, (press "Reset" if you've made any modifications to the rung), First you have to set the value of the "Input" variable to "ON", and then press "Check". So, the state of the rung matters on the first one. It doesn't let you see later lessons until you've done the prior lessons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
Can you make the drop area a little bigger that may help when adding things to the rungs
I'll for sure mention it to the guy who's making the site. Good feedback Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 06:40 PM   #15
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 4,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacslade View Post
There's more than one. To get past the first one, (press "Reset" if you've made any modifications to the rung), First you have to set the value of the "Input" variable to "ON", and then press "Check". So, the state of the rung matters on the first one. It doesn't let you see later lessons until you've done the prior lessons.
Oh... you mean you need to read the instructions

On the instruction page could you make the instruction box bigger so you dont need to scroll down and you can just read as your working on the logic
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC Update - Back Issues Collection Now Available! Phil Melore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 October 22nd, 2015 02:17 AM
Schneider electric quantum series hotstandby plc 140cpu67160 pravingk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 31st, 2014 08:43 AM
Siemens PLC won't auto-run after power-up Lamboom LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 August 19th, 2014 04:32 PM
PLC data transfer queries... arbj LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 5th, 2014 12:45 PM
PC to PLC Protocol TheRixta LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 December 17th, 2008 12:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.


.