You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 14th, 2017, 08:10 AM   #1
bbishop108
Member
United States

bbishop108 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 24
Micro850 & CCW

Good day one and all! So I have an issue I am trying to work thru and when I found a solution for it, that's where my problem continues. It seems the solution is far more difficult a solution that what I was hoping for.

So I am trying to use 2 type J thermocouples with this PLC, they are grounded type TC's so I cannot use the 2085-IRT4 expansion module as it ONLY works with ungrounded TC's. Info that would have been nice to have before I ordered this module.

So after I chat with RA, they informed me that a need a 3rd party's plug-in module. Spectrum Controls 2080sc-IF4U universal analog module, perfect so I go ahead and get one. Sadly not plug and play, after yet another chat with RA low and behold there is a tech note for this specific module and even a sample program on Spectrum Controls web page for this module.

Here is where the problem for me is with this solution! Apparently there is data that needs to be entered using Structured Text, of which I have ZERO experience using. Then there are special instructions in CCW that also have to be utilized: PLUGIN_READ, PLUGIN_WRITE, and PLUGIN_INFO.

So this so-called solution seems way more complicated than the original problem. As such I feel I am going to require so serious step-by-step instructions in order to get this working. I know I can't get that from RA, so I am hoping some awesome wizard here has dealt with this before and has experience with this type of issue. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 08:22 AM   #2
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,115
https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...l_Conditioners

What about just using a signal conditioner. Thermocouple in - Analog output to the PLC.

Just a thought.
Regards,
__________________
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 01:25 PM   #3
bbishop108
Member
United States

bbishop108 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 24
So me not knowing anything about signal conditioners, so TC in and Analog out. But I need temperature displayed, how does this Analog out translate to temperature?

I suppose my real issue is the fact that I chose the wrong PLC platform, probably should have gone with a ML1100 and not this Micro850. I can't change that now, but I do need a viable solution for displaying current tank temp with the TC's that I have. I very much want to avoid having to try and use that 2080sc_IF4U plug-in module if at all possible.

So if there is a way to connect my TC's to the signal conditioner, and then connect the signal conditioners to the PLC and still be able to display the correct tank temp then I am all for that!

I know that AB has a line of signal conditioners, but I don't know how to connect them to a Micro850 or if they require additional programming with CCW.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 03:47 PM   #4
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 254
I agree with "gclshortt" look at this; https://cdn.automationdirect.com/sta...sensettdrm.pdf

Now you will end up with a 4-20ma output that the Micro850 can use, the raw input value will read between 0-65535 and you would convert to a real number then scale it the value you need to show.

I can show you how this is done if you wish.
__________________
David M. Camp
Automation Engineer
Marshall Electric / www.mei-tech.com

PLEASE READ: https://www.prlog.org/12642091-marsh...-industry.html
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 04:00 PM   #5
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 254
This should get you started.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TempSensorSample.jpg (92.3 KB, 47 views)
__________________
David M. Camp
Automation Engineer
Marshall Electric / www.mei-tech.com

PLEASE READ: https://www.prlog.org/12642091-marsh...-industry.html
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 04:10 PM   #6
bbishop108
Member
United States

bbishop108 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 24
Yes, that would be greatly appreciated as I know I will need all the help i can get. I have currently reached out to my local AB rep to recommend a signal conditioner that I can use with the Micro850. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2017, 05:41 PM   #7
Rob...
Member
United Kingdom

Rob... is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Manchester
Posts: 14
http://www.prelectronics.com/?altTem...roduct&id=8591

I've used converters from the PR electronics range numerous times and they have proven to be accurate and reliable.

There are plenty of other on the market, but I know these well through trial in use.
  Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:30 AM   #8
bbishop108
Member
United States

bbishop108 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 24
Well, I have a question regarding these signal conditioners. Do I have to match the temperature range of the thermocouple to a signal conditioner with the same temperature range? For example: my tank temp will never be above 500 deg F, my TC has a much higher temp range, I found a signal conditioner that has a max temp of 500 deg F. Will this be an issue with scaling since my TC has a higher temp range than the signal conditioner?
  Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:18 AM   #9
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbishop108 View Post
Yes, that would be greatly appreciated as I know I will need all the help i can get. I have currently reached out to my local AB rep to recommend a signal conditioner that I can use with the Micro850. Thanks
Don't do this.
Just go ahead and get any of the hundreds available from just about every industrial electrical supplier.

IFM, PhoenixContact, Automation Direct all have signal conditioners, and are most likely about a thousand dollars cheaper than anything recommended by your AB distributor.

Oh, and match the signal conditioner input to the type of thermocouple you are using.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!


Last edited by rdrast; Yesterday at 08:20 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micro850 and CCW: RA_IPID Loop Tuning Spanishflea10 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 18th, 2017 11:01 AM
Write and Read Modbus RTU on PLC Micro850 CCW zanker99 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 27th, 2017 12:15 PM
CCW and Micro850, download with warnings MrFly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 6th, 2017 09:23 AM
Panelview C400 to CCW micro850 issues pswalley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 December 8th, 2014 11:16 PM
AB Micro850 PID Problems (CCW IPID Block) lolproe LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 5th, 2013 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


.