You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 28th, 2006, 06:45 AM   #1
Gromit
Member
Austria

Gromit is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: -
Posts: 119
Siemens or Omron?

Hello,

Which of those two PLC manufacturers do you find more usefull.
I used to program Omron PLCs for about an year. Then I had to jump to the Siemens brand. Comparing them I find the Siemens programming more professional and heavy, in respect to Omron, which is more user friendly and intuitive.
For Siemens we have structures, arrays and the data memory can be very large (Mbytes).
Omron has a data memory max 512 kwords, no structures, no arrays. But you can program all your stuff in LAD only. No need to mix LAD and STL.
I can not decide which conception is smarter?

Regards
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 07:47 AM   #2
davefinic
Member
England

davefinic is offline
 
davefinic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: manchester
Posts: 75
Mitsubishi
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 08:40 AM   #3
Gambrinus
Member
Latvia

Gambrinus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riga
Posts: 248
Structuring of data is very useful in big programs. I didn't work with Omron but from this point of view I prefer Siemens. And (it's my opinion) STL is more comfortable.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 09:23 AM   #4
Doug_Adam
Member
Australia

Doug_Adam is offline
 
Doug_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 949
Since I use Siemens and have never used Omron, I have to say...
Siemens!

A few comments though,
People always keep telling me that to program Siemens effectively you have to use STL. Nearly all my programs in a Siemens use only ladder. This is done only to keep the program simple for the electricians, but is quite do-able.
Another point, it is up to you to structure your programs, and it can be done in an Omron. I have also had the un-pleasant job of trouble shooting and modifying a Siemens program written entirely in OB1, 140 networks with 85 jumps, and only a small amount of the program scanned each scan. You can write un-structured Siemens programs if you try.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 09:30 AM   #5
cradle
Member
Philippines

cradle is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Manila
Posts: 8
Omron Or Siemens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gromit
Hello,

Which of those two PLC manufacturers do you find more usefull.
I used to program Omron PLCs for about an year. Then I had to jump to the Siemens brand. Comparing them I find the Siemens programming more professional and heavy, in respect to Omron, which is more user friendly and intuitive.
For Siemens we have structures, arrays and the data memory can be very large (Mbytes).
Omron has a data memory max 512 kwords, no structures, no arrays. But you can program all your stuff in LAD only. No need to mix LAD and STL.
I can not decide which conception is smarter?

Regards

GROMIT

FOR ME IT IS OMRON. IT EASY TO PROGRAM AND USERS FRIENDLY BUT ALSO TRY THE PANASONIC PLC. IT HAS A DOWNLOADABLE PROTOCOLS THAT CAN BE USED IN VISUAL BASIC


REGARDS,

DARWIN
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 09:38 AM   #6
seppoalanen
Member
Finland

seppoalanen is offline
 
seppoalanen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,132
Talking

Simple, what is the total price? Structure etc. are secondary questions..
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 09:38 AM   #7
Gambrinus
Member
Latvia

Gambrinus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riga
Posts: 248
Code structuring isn't a problem - it can be done in Omron too (I didn't work, but seen a little). But what with data structuring? I have a "pleasure" now to scroll long Schneider symbol table everytime when I want to look in it. But in Siemens I open required DB and look in it only.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 09:43 AM   #8
Gambrinus
Member
Latvia

Gambrinus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riga
Posts: 248
Of course. But another question is what is more popular in your market. In your country Omron is popular, I know. But in Latvia customer may say: "What is your Omron? Do you want to sell me some s..t?!" Or: "Siemens? Yes, I know. Siemens is good."
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 09:49 AM   #9
burnerman
Member
England

burnerman is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 212
I am not a fan of Siemens and STL at all but that may be down to my lack of experience with it.

It may be my imagination but I do see a lot more posts on this site of (sometimes very basic) programming problems and anomalies, e.g. timers data types, to do with Siemens than any other brand.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 10:31 AM   #10
Ken M
Member
Scotland

Ken M is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: .
Posts: 1,136
People do seem to have a "Siemens = STL" mentality. I have frequently written FCs and FBs using Structured Text (so easy from a development point of view), and then, protect them and call them from LAD. No-one need ever know what's going on inside these blocks if they don't want to.

I've never yet had the need to write a program which uses all 5 IEC languages, but I know that with Siemens at least I can choose whichever of these I want. Plus they have a couple of extra non-IEC proprietary languages if they're not enough. Plenty of rope to hang yourself with!

Regards

Ken
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 10:50 AM   #11
Leadfoot
Member
United States

Leadfoot is offline
 
Leadfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Red Stick, Cajun Land
Posts: 577
When I first looked at a Step 7 plc program, I was a bit confused. I was used to ladder like in early Omron and AB type plc's. As I read up and worked around some S7 guru's I was duly impressed with the POWER and CAPABILITIES in them. I watched one engineer do some code and then was able to see things work. The more I worked with it, the more I came to respect just how GOOD it is. Unfortunately, I transfered offices and have not worked with Siemens in a while. I have been doing OMRON and have come to realize it too is quite powerful and flexible. The smaller PLC's like the CPM2C

I am truly a hardware person. Programming is not second nature to me like some folks I work with. I am getting better at it as it is a challenge and cause to learn and grow as a service tech. I do like CX-ONE and the intuitive nature.

I also am convinced that OMRON has the superior tech support group. I have called Siemens and usually had to talk to a some one reading the same book I was. I found the Siemen's distributors usually had the best support folks. Maybe in other parts of the world it might be different.

This is my $00.02 on this discussion.
__________________
My brain hertz when I program!
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 11:02 AM   #12
theDave2
Member
United States

theDave2 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 467
Siemens vs Omron (Given that both can do the task.) is easy: Omron wins hands down - easy, friendly, very good support, no funny stuff.

I've programmed both (and at least 7 other brands / 20 totally diff plcs) and I'll never do a Siemens again. Debug / actual programming time is at least 3x any other brand.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 11:11 AM   #13
Gambrinus
Member
Latvia

Gambrinus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riga
Posts: 248
Maybe Siemens isn't useful for your programming style? I think all depends from it. If you have perfect examples written for another PLC, it doesn't means be perfect for Siemens in all cases. And vice versa. I'm a Siemens guy. Don't like LAD etc. And I had see in some cases Siemens possibilities shortage in another PLC.
AB, Siemens, Schneider, Mitsubishi, Omron - all are popular in the world. So many people cann't be so stupid to use bad PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 02:57 PM   #14
marinko
Member
Macedonia

marinko is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kavadarci
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gromit
Hello,

Which of those two PLC manufacturers do you find more usefull.
I used to program Omron PLCs for about an year. Then I had to jump to the Siemens brand. Comparing them I find the Siemens programming more professional and heavy, in respect to Omron, which is more user friendly and intuitive.
For Siemens we have structures, arrays and the data memory can be very large (Mbytes).
Omron has a data memory max 512 kwords, no structures, no arrays. But you can program all your stuff in LAD only. No need to mix LAD and STL.
I can not decide which conception is smarter?

Regards
Both are smart
You must be familiar with both conceptions (Siemens and Omron)
Omron is very good in a relatively small applications, i.e. to rewrite relay scheme in the plc program. Also, Omron PLC's are cheaper and are more cost effective.
But, if you deal with reletively complex problem where you have large amount of data and make complex operations, using Omron PLC will be more time costing because Siemens has powerfull and simple modular concept of programming. This saves time and nerves. Also, in large and complex applications you must buy more Omron PLC's because you will overflow memory. Also Siemens has some more advanced hardware that greatly simplifies develloping and commiting of project.

Price is most important, so use Omron in common applications, and Siemens in complex applications.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 03:42 PM   #15
Outrage
Member
England

Outrage is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 173
Hi All,

Thought i'd kick off my first post on this thread with my personal likes and dislikes, like everything it is down to personal preference and experience.

I am a ladder man myself and my favourite PLC's are Rockwell (AB) PLC 5 to control Logix, it's what I started out with and always found them simple to use and easy to program. My pears at the time used Siemens S5's and S7's programming in a mixture of STL and LAD and at the time I found them quite daunting Voodoo'esq stuff. At the moment rather than doing the PLC design i've moved over to a maintenace role using Siemens S7 200 to 400 stuff. I still find this more difficult then AB as it's been programmed in STL and LAD and i'm not one of these people that can visualise what the programs doing by looking at lines of text.

I can't say ive used Omron so I can't really offer any critique.

Cheers,

Lee
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acces Siemens S7-315 by VB GAEvakYD LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 October 14th, 2008 09:29 AM
Problems with Siemens MMC cards RMA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 24th, 2006 02:52 AM
information about the siemens, modicon, omron plc siva_maddala LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 30th, 2006 09:38 AM
Omron Against Siemens maqbool_sid LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 February 10th, 2006 02:16 AM
Omron => Siemens Prince LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 July 15th, 2002 06:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


.