Motor Theory Education

tim_callinan

Im looking for some opinions and perspectives - I'm a mechatronic instructor at a community college. I'm not a motor expert but I'm starting to learn more about it.

Can I ask the group a question - is power factor, corrective capacitors to minimize reactive power, apparent power - is this stuff critical for a mechatronic technician? Its kind of blowing the heads of my students unfortunately.

Also - do they need to understand how every single type of AC motor works in detail?
I could be very wrong but it seems like capacitor start induction motor and 3 phase motors are the main ones out there?
Thank you for any advice. Hope everyone is keeping safe....
Tim

Im looking for some opinions and perspectives - I'm a mechatronic instructor at a community college. I'm not a motor expert but I'm starting to learn more about it.

Can I ask the group a question - is power factor, corrective capacitors to minimize reactive power, apparent power - is this stuff critical for a mechatronic technician? Its kind of blowing the heads of my students unfortunately.
From a mechatronic standpoint, Power factor is irrelevant. They can ignore it, unless they get into a discussion of how much it COSTS to operate a machine. Then it's a good idea to understand the basics of PF.

Also - do they need to understand how every single type of AC motor works in detail?
I could be very wrong but it seems like capacitor start induction motor and 3 phase motors are the main ones out there?
Thank you for any advice. Hope everyone is keeping safe....
Tim
In my opinion if they don't understand the different types of AC motors, they can get caught in a trap or scam from someone trying to peddle the wrong type to them for an application.