You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 3rd, 2008, 12:43 PM   #1
d21x
Member
United States

d21x is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 24
1768-L43 Questions

Using a 1768-L43, can I use two 1768-ENBT's and one 1768-M04SE Module? Reason for using two ENBT's is one is for communications to Panelview, RFID and for PC connection. The second ENBT would be use for data collection connecting to the network. Please let me know. Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 02:35 PM   #2
davidg68124
Member
United States

davidg68124 is offline
 
davidg68124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 313
I used an L43 recently and according to Rockwell and the manuals, you can only use up to 2 communication cards to the left on the 1768 bus.


I just tried adding more than 2 cards in Logix and it will not let me either.

David
__________________
The PRICE of FREEDOM is not FREE! My son is now a United States Marine and I could not be more proud of what he and others will do to protect our freedoms here at home.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 02:47 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,295
One 1768-ENBT module will provide both I/O, programming, and data collection services. Just make sure you provide a switch that can do IGMP snooping and querying to constrain the multicast generated by the I/O connections.

If you need a different IP address for your data collection system, use a local router with TCP Port 44818 forwarded to the 1768-ENBT.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 03:12 PM   #4
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidg68124
I used an L43 recently and according to Rockwell and the manuals, you can only use up to 2 communication cards to the left on the 1768 bus.


I just tried adding more than 2 cards in Logix and it will not let me either.

David
It is a fact, only 2 modules to the left, ENBT and SERCOS (I've used the configurations quite a few times myself, pretty sweet system for the money)
Your issues are solved though.
Take KenR's advice, he's an AB guru and has answerd a lot of questions on this forum.
Best of all, his services are free of charge and always right on the money!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 03:19 PM   #5
olias
Member
United States

olias is offline
 
olias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkottaras
Best of all, his services are free of charge and always right on the money!
Unlike some place that I pay a lot of money to for support. : )
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 04:07 PM   #6
AJZ
Member
Canada

AJZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ontario
Posts: 261
The 1768-L45 can have up to four 1768 modules
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 04:10 PM   #7
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,647
The 1768-L45 just came out, not too long ago.
And yes, you can go up to 4 modules on the left.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2008, 05:14 PM   #8
d21x
Member
United States

d21x is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 24
Only reason I want to use two ENBT's is because I don't want corporate to have to assign IP addresses to each device on the network. I also don't want to deal with having a managed switch.

Because I am using the L43, is it possible to use a 1761-NET-ENI for data collection?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interview Questions alielectrical LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 36 December 24th, 2011 03:43 AM
PLC questions weilerot LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 4th, 2008 11:19 AM
Lots of LogixPro Questions and Ideas. timryder LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 August 6th, 2007 05:05 AM
RSView32 alarm questions maxtin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 9th, 2007 02:04 PM
More Simple DeviceNet Questions Jimmie_Ohio LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 July 3rd, 2006 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


.