You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 12th, 2011, 10:24 AM   #1
mdelyser
Member
United States

mdelyser is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 2
logix5000 issue

I am using logix 5000 with an HMI that is unable to read ALIAS tags, User defined data types or an INT down to BIT level. Is there a way to map an INT or DINT to a BOOL array? Suggestions? Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2011, 11:12 AM   #2
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,218
Hrm... just maybe, could'ya possibly, if'n it tisn't too much trouble, just add a few teensy details?

If you'd rather not, I'll just say that my HMI works fine with my processor, so you really don't have a problem.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2011, 11:26 AM   #3
mdelyser
Member
United States

mdelyser is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 2
Sorry about that...
I am using a Maple Systems HMI with a CLX L61 rev 18 processor
My company's standard code uses Alias tags to read down to bit level of an INT word for a jam condition in the system. The HMI cannot read this Alias tag or the bit level of the INT word, the HMI can only see the INT word itself and read its overall value. I am hoping to find a way to map the bit level of the INT word into a BOOL array that the HMI can read. I am just trying to find a better way than having a rung of code for each bit mapped over. The final BOOL Bit is to trigger a specific alarm message in the HMI.
I hope gives you some more info..... Thanks for the help
  Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2011, 11:38 AM   #4
bigbuckaroo
Member
United States

bigbuckaroo is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 112
Not sure which Maple Systems unit you are using but a couple of weeks ago I recieved an email from them regarding an update for EZWare 5000 to version 4.40. One of the updates had to do with a "User defined data type editor" that is billed as "A tool to allow the Maple Graphic HMI to interface with Allen Bradley User Defined Data Types". Hopes this helps
  Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2011, 11:41 AM   #5
bigbuckaroo
Member
United States

bigbuckaroo is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 112
Why in my response does the word quote show up instead of the symbol like I typed it?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2011, 05:26 AM   #6
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbuckaroo View Post
Why in my response does the word quote show up instead of the symbol like I typed it?
Perhaps because you didn't use the right tags?

Open tag: [_quote_]
Close tag: [_/quote_]

Don't include the underscores.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2011, 05:17 PM   #7
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbuckaroo View Post
Why in my response does the word quote show up instead of the symbol like I typed it?
Best way is to use the "Advanced" Editor, select any text you want as a quote, and hit the "Wrap [quote] tags around selected text" button.... see pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg quote.jpg (59.1 KB, 64 views)
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2011, 05:58 PM   #8
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,226
No,he's referring to quotes like around your word Advacnced. They got changed to the HTML representation of them.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2011, 06:32 PM   #9
TConnolly
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

TConnolly is offline
 
TConnolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 6,147
Does your HMI support expressions? If so you can use a bitwise AND to determine the state of any bit in an integer.

(TagName AND 1) will tell you if Tagname.0 is set.
(Tagname AND 2) will tell you if Tagname.1 is set.
(Tagname AND 4) will tell you if Tagname.2 is set.
(Tagname AND 8) will tell you if Tagname.3 is set.
etc.
__________________
True craftsmanship is only one more power tool away.

That's the beauty of processors, they don't have emotions they just run code - The PLC Kid.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2011, 03:29 PM   #10
davidg68124
Member
United States

davidg68124 is offline
 
davidg68124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 313
Wow, guys, have you forgotten the feature in Logix5000 where you can dedicate items to legacy addressing?

Under the Logic Drop down menu, select Map PLC/SLC Messages...

There you will assign your booleans array to the right file for a slc/plc.

David
__________________
The PRICE of FREEDOM is not FREE! My son is now a United States Marine and I could not be more proud of what he and others will do to protect our freedoms here at home.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rs logix5000 addressing issue anstee33 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 October 18th, 2010 01:23 AM
Mitsubishi GOT issue (long winded) Killercal LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 August 18th, 2009 07:28 PM
Logix5000 indirect issue johnfarrugi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 14th, 2008 11:42 AM
AB 1734-AENT POint IO issue ettikudiappan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 July 17th, 2007 09:42 PM
+ or - for Logix5000? Rob D. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 26 May 19th, 2006 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


.