AB Micro850 PID Problems (CCW IPID Block)

lolproe

Hey guys, I have no real experience with PLCs or PID control, but I was given a project that involves both and don't know anyone who can help me out with my problem. I'm using an Allen-Bradley Micro850 and programming it using Connected Components Workbench just for reference.

I'm having lots of problems getting a PID loop to work properly. I currently have a small test set up. One analog output from the PLC is hooked up to an incandescent lightbulb through a control relay, so a 0-20mA signal alters the power the bulb gets. This works no problem, and as I alter the PLC output from 0mA to 20mA, the light bulb gradually brightens as it should. I also have a thermocouple sitting on top of the bulb connected to the PLC, so it's probably pretty clear what I'm trying to do. I'm just trying to regulate the lightbulb temperature by changing how much power is being sent to it. It's a pretty simple setup, but I thought it would be good enough to give me an introduction to PID control before working on my actual project.

My problems begin when I actually try to do any controlling. I think I'm having a problem fundamentally understanding how a PID controller works, or at least how to get it working on my PLC. In fact, I can't even seem to get a proportional controller working well. I'm using the IPID block built into CCW, and that parameters I've chosen make sense to me. I can give them specifically/upload my program if anyone wants to take a look at it though. Also, Appendix G in the manual outlines all the parameters for the IPID block, so if anything there suggests where I might be messing up it would be helpful to me.

My problem is essentially that the P-only controller is dealing with error on the wrong side of the setpoint. It's currently working like this:

1. When the temperature is below the setpoint, the IPID block outputs 100%