You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 13th, 2020, 09:14 PM   #1
Sham
Member
Australia

Sham is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 97
Add on Instructions - Studio5000

hi all,

can you guys please explain the why we use AOIs? My understanding is that they can be used like templates, so we create them once, and keep reusing them as required. But what are the things we need to keep in mind? Like which parametres?

What is the role of parametres and tags in AOIs? How do we use one AOI for different inputs and outputs, where the logic stays same?
If someone can give a simple example too, that will be most helpful.

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2020, 09:31 PM   #2
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,693
Think of it as an FB if you have done work with other platforms.
Say 20 motors with Start Stop and Indicator "Running".
Create an AOI with the Start/Stop logic and the indicator.
Re-Use the same code (AOI) for all 20 motors.
Just plug in the inputs and Outputs, the logic remains the same.
Hope makes sense.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2020, 07:25 AM   #3
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 306
Sham, good morning? Anyway, here is a link to some pretty good videos (I thought, anyway) about AOI's. Hope this helps.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQi4nDRokMw
__________________
"4 out of 5 Great Lakes prefer Michigan."
"I brake for no apparent reason."
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2020, 08:12 AM   #4
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sham View Post
What is the role of parametres and tags in AOIs?
How do we use one AOI for different inputs and outputs, where the logic stays same?
If someone can give a simple example too, that will be most helpful.

Thanks.
Think about the AOI as an instruction like a timer [TON]. A TON uses different addresses but uses the same logic behind the scene to give you a time elapsed value for the address of the timer you specify.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2020, 05:31 PM   #5
Sham
Member
Australia

Sham is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 97
Thanks guys.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omron Expansion Instructions Junkstuff1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 July 21st, 2017 11:53 PM
Add instructions to "User" tab on RSLogix 500 ASF LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 9th, 2016 09:34 PM
add on instruction inputs Brijm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 4th, 2016 06:44 PM
Best way to convert add on instructions in RSLOGIX 5000 Nan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 April 8th, 2016 10:31 AM
S7-400 -- the behaviour of Set and Reset instructions inside of a Function Serg_Rus LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 November 11th, 2009 04:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 PM.


.