You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 29th, 2015, 02:41 AM   #1
fish00cake
Member
Australia

fish00cake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: australia
Posts: 1
FTV Studio Custom Keyboard

Hi all,

Using FTV studio 8 on windows 7 touchscreen monitor. I want a large on-screen keyboard for touch screen typing logins and notes.
I would like the keyboard to be displayed and locked into a specific position. (100 px above the bottom of the screen).

Options I have considered:
1. Using default rockwell keyboards. Problem: keyboard is too small for gloved hand to type accurately.

2. Use built in Microsoft on-screen keyboard. Problem: windows key button poses a security issue and allows users too much access. Third party keyboard designer software may be an option. Any suggestions?

3. Build custom keyboard inside of FTV studio.
3.1: Use popup display and the standard rockwell built-in login functionality.
Problem: login box does not allow other displays to have focus, so we can't type in text via a separate display.

3.2: Use popup display and custom username/pw string input tags. A 'log me in' button will push these values into the "login [operator] [password]".
Problem: I can't pass the string data to the login function.

I am using code syntax: Login temp_username temp_pw
where temp_username and temp_pw are tags. Can someone check my syntax?

Also, is there a security issue with this method? Maybe bad practice as login/pw is stored as an unsecured tag somewhere...
Tried searching these forums, the closest I could get to is this unresolved thread:
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=4645
  Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2015, 06:51 AM   #2
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,434
Not much you can do.
Rockwell is "Promising" a "New Version", that "Should Have Enhanced keyboard functionality for Touch Screens" sometime in late 2016, or maybe 2017.

Your second best bet is to completely roll your own keyboard, as an OCX component. About 2 decades ago, someone at Rockwell realized that the numeric keypad was horrible, and did an OCX for that, but only numeric. Rockwell probably fired that person for actually creating something useful for the HMI software.

The first best bet (and one I wish I could do here) would be to completely toss out any Rockwell HMI 'Solution'.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2018, 04:13 AM   #3
crawler009
Member
Switzerland

crawler009 is offline
 
crawler009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrast View Post
Not much you can do.
Rockwell is "Promising" a "New Version", that "Should Have Enhanced keyboard functionality for Touch Screens" sometime in late 2016, or maybe 2017.
Do you know if there is something new on this topic?
Even on Version 10 of FTV SE its the same old Keyboard, and we have 2018.
I'm still using "osk.exe" from Windows or the "TabTip.exe".

Edit: These ones looks good http://www.virtual-keyboard.com/Feat...keyboards.html
And only 15$. Does anyone have experience if they work well in FTV SE?

Last edited by crawler009; March 15th, 2018 at 04:43 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to communicate with PLC from FtV Studio 5.1 Riskinit LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 25th, 2014 05:35 PM
wonderware trends are not showing saqib5350 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 July 3rd, 2014 04:05 AM
Factory Talk View Studio on screen keyboard kedarkg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 November 26th, 2013 02:46 PM
Red Lion G3 Custom Keyboard Mr_Wizard LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 21st, 2013 03:57 PM
FTV Studio ME v6.1 de-licensing pw3 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 2nd, 2013 04:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 PM.


.