PLC 5 and SLC 500

Chakija

I'm totally new in working with AB PLC-s so don't resent me if my questions are a bit silly.
Can someone briefly explain to me the difference between SLC 500 and PLC 5 series? What are the performance and capabilities differences, and very importantly what are the differences in prices? Do they use the same software for programming? I know that SLC 500 uses RSLogix 500, but what is used for PLC-5?

I was cruising around the internet a few nights ago and I stumbled on this website .
I hope it helps you with your problem. ;)
Anyway, RSLogix 500 is for SLCs series, and RSLogic 5 for PLCs series.

Regards

Sherine Tang

Well....
If we compared them to automobiles, the PLC-5 is a large dump truck.
Used on large jobs. The SLC is a pick up truck, good for small to medium sized jobs.

The big difference in the two is number of I/O supported and processing power. The PLC-5 can support many, many, many times the I/O that a SLC can. The SLC basically has one processor that does everything, and the PLC-5 has multiple processors with dedicated task, such as communications, ladder, etc...Plus the PLC-5 has many more instructions than the SLC.

There is a place for both, many times using a PLC-5 would be overkill, where the SLC is just the ticket

PLC-5 requires RSLogix 5 for programming.

As Ken said - the PLC-5 is a much more powerful processor which gives faster scan times and the ability to use more I/O.

One minor difference that hasn't been mentioned is in I/O addressing - the PLC-5 I/O is Octal based where the SLC is Decimal based.

Good luck,

Marc

and digging a little bit deeper ...

as for price ... as a basic salesman's rule of thumb:

the cost of automating a certain application with a PLC-5 would be about THREE times as much as it would cost using the smaller SLC system ...