AB PLC5 to panleview plus 1500 using 2711P-RN6

ahmsgrz

I am trying to connect PLC5/30 to panelviewplus 1500 with 2711P/RN6 on DH+.

I am plannig to load the program to Panelview on ethernet. Then I need the panel viewplus to communicate with PLC5 on DH+. I have configured a runtime target on factory talk view studio for DH+ driver with station number = 0, jumper ID = 0, baud = 576000. then added a PLC 1785-L30A, PLC-5/30A processor with address 44.

when i tried this, the HMI shows error saying ' No acknowledgment reading I/OO::0 from PLC at station 44 on driver DH+'. I get the same with all tags. Also i do not get to do online browse to PLC tags on factory talk view tag browser

I am new to AB systems. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks

When dealing with DH+ addresses, be aware that in the PLC-5 they are shown in octal on the Channel Properties dialog in RS-Logix 5. I would make sure the FT-View setup is also specifying the DH+ address in octal, which it could be doing as expected. Also, the baud would be 57600 if the channel properties is showing 57.6K.

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

It could be a problem with your configuration, with your wiring, or with your addressing.

I think the LED on the 2711P-RN6 should give you a solid green light when you have good DH+ signal and a non-duplicate node address.

Can you communicate with / browse that PLC-5 from any other network route or connection ?

I would try creating a test program that reads nothing but N7:0 out of the PLC-5. I VERY strongly recommend against reading I/O addresses directly, if you can avoid it.

"I/OO::0" is either a typo in the post, or an indication of incorrect syntax in the FTView Studio application. If you can give examples of the actual syntax you are using that may help. The use of colons in PLC/SLC data table addressing requires some careful syntax in FTView.

Last edited: