Need Advice - Running Average Calculation

sbman

Hello, I'm a novice seeking advice. I need to claculate and display a running average for the number of items passing by on a conveyor. The input is simply "on" when an item passes. I need to calculate the average rate over the past minute.

I can conceive a method for sampling every minute, but it would be preferred to keep a "live" running average that counts the number of items passed in the previous 60 seconds at all times.

Hardware: AB Micrologix 1200; Inview panel display 2706-P42R for message display.

Thanks in advance for any help.

You could do it like this:
sample8.jpg

Counts accumulate for six seconds and are then moved to a register (N17:0 thru N17:9). The averaging calc. is performed (shown as a sub in my example), the pointer (c5:0.acc) is incremented and the counter is reset.
This would give you a rolling average that's updated every six seconds. You could change the timer/counter presets to get more or less frequent calculations.

First my apologies for an Off-Topic comment!

OK, I assume this is AB ladder, but frankly I wouldn't find it any easier to understand if it was in Siemens Ladder. Surely this is something that cries out to be done in STL or ST. And don't tell me that it's easier for the maintenance guys if it's done in ladder. I can't believe an average electrician with little programming experience can easily understand this.

Perhaps I see this wrong, because ladder is so much more common in US than in Europe, but I'd be curious to know what others think.

As a maintenance guy, and speaking for the other maintenance guys who want the PLC to be simple...