S7-1200, Profinet, Modbus TCP

ASF

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi all,

I've been given a system to design containing a whole lot of things I haven't worked with much (or at all) before. My PLC is a Siemens S7-1200, my HMI is a Siemens KTP600 Basic Panel with Profinet interface, and I have to communicate with a Mettler-Toledo weight controller, which speaks Profibus or Modbus TCP, but not Profinet. So far my plan of attack looks like this:

Plan A is to have the S7-1200 talk Modbus TCP to the Mettler and Profinet to the HMI from the same port at the same time. Is this possible? If not...

Plan B is to talk Modbus TCP to both the Mettler and the HMI. Is this possible/straightforward/a pain in the backside?

Plan C is to get a profibus card for the S7-1200 to talk to the Mettler. Does the S7-1200 have such a card, and is it painful to set up?

In any case, I have no experience with Modbus TCP, and the only two things I know about profibus is that the cables are purple and that if you don't do the grounding properly You Are Going To Have A Bad Time. I have a little experience with Modbus Plus, from a few years back, but that's about it. So any advice or tips and tricks on getting it working are much appreciated!

ASF

My opinion is use profibus. Ive setup the Toledo weigh scales with Step7 V5.x in the past and it was very easy. I know the profibus module for the 1200 is a little expensive but by the time you screw around with Modbus codes etc...

Yes the 1200 has a profibus master module- this is what you need
Import the Toledo gsd file and boom- your done

I say go with Plan C

toledo.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks! Good to hear from someone who's done it before. I'm using TIA Portal, but I guess it'll be much the same. A few more basic questions then:

1. Where do I get the gsd files?

2. How do you import them?